JK Rowling By: Aleia Childs


JK Rowling was born ( Joanne Kathleen Rowling ) on July 31st 1965 at Yates General Hospital just outside of Bristol.

Hew grew up in Gloucestershire, England and in Chepstow, Gwent with her mother, Anne, her father, Peter, and her, sister, Dianne.


Jo left home at the age of 18 ( 1983) for Exeter University where she spent three years studying French with Greek and German which come in handy with all her Harry Potter spells.

Harry Potter spells are based in Latin such as, Accio, Lumos, Finite Icatatum, Expelliamus, Nox, Expecto Patronum, Obliviate, Cunfundo, Petrificus Totalus, Ruddikulus, Stupefy, Sectrum sempra, Imperio, crucio, Avada Kadavra..


Building Harry Potter

Jo conceived the idea of Harry Potter in 1990 on a delayed train from Manchester to London's King Cross.

Over the next five years she began to map out all seven books of the series which she mostly wrote in longhand which built up a mass of notes.

She moved to North Putagul she married Jorge Arentas in October 1992 and had a daughter in 1993.

After there marriage ended she moved back to U.K. not only with her daughter, with the first three chapters of Harry Potter in her suitcase.

After completing the manuscript she sent the first three chapter of Harry Potter to a literary agent who wrote asking to see the rest. She quoted " This was the best letter I have ever received in my life."

After That the Scottish Art Counsil in UK inable Rowling to write full time.

Series Publishing and awards

She was awarded many awards. Let me tell you some Award for each books.

The Scholastic books agreed to pay $200,000 for the US rights of each of the series.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone

Her first was published under a different name " Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone published by Bloomsbury in June 1997 and got the Young Telegraph Paper Back Award in 1998

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

The second book was published in 1998 and awarded the Nestlè Smartie Book Award in 1998, Gold Medal, 9-11 years

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Askaban

The third book was published in 1999 and was awarded the Scottish Art Counsil Children book award in 2001.

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

The fourth book of the series was published in 2001. It became the fastest selling book in history and the was awarded Whitaker' Platinum book award of the year in 2003.

Harry Potter and the Order of Phoenix

The fifth book was published in 2003 and awarded British Book Award of the year in the same year.

Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince

The sixth book was published on 2005. It was sold 6.9 million copy's in the US in the first 24 hours and got awarded Royal Mail Award for Scottish Children's Book Award.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

The last and seventh book was published in 2007 and got awarded Carnegie Medal in 2008.

Harry Potter and the cursed child part 1+2

JK Rowling , Jack Thorne, and John Tiffany joined and created Harry Potter and the Cursed Child published in 2016 at London's West End at the Palace Theater.

Harry Potter Films

In 1998 Warner Brothers secured the rights of the film to the series.

In 2001 the first book became a movie followed by 7 more films.

They cast the films with primarily British actors.

Including with Fantastic Beast and where to find them which became a further extension into a movie in 2016.

Hogwarts Library

Hogwarts library is a 3 book series written by JK Rowling which was passed by Dumbledore into the muggle world (Our World).

In 2001 JK Rowling written 2 book in aid of comic relief such as Quidditch Through Ages and Fantastic Beasts with Newt Scamander is to become a five film series.

In December2008, Tales of Beedle the Bard was published by International Children's Charity Lumos.

JK Rowling Crime Novels

Under pseudonym Robert Galbraith, she wrote crime novels.

The Casual Vacancy

In 2012 she wrote 'The Casual Vacancy' which was translated into 44 languages and adapted into a TV show by BBC in 2015.

The Cuckoo's Calling

She wrote the 'Cuckoo's Calling' in 2013.

She wrote 'Silkworm' in 2014.

Career of Evil

Also a crime novel, she wrote 'Career of Evil' in 2015.

All books above was published by Little Brown and adapted into a major television series for BBC One, produced by Brontë Film and television.

Very Good Lives: The Fringe Benifits of Failure and the Importance of Imagination.

She wrote 'Very Good Lives' in 2008 and published in 2015 as an illustrated book in aid of Lumos and in University wide financial at Harvard.


PEN America Literary Service Award(2016), Freedom of the City of Freedom of London (2012), Hans Christian Anderson Award in Denmark (2010), Chevalier de la Legion d'honneur in France (2009), Lifetime Achievement Award, British Book Award (2008), The Edinburgh Award (2008), Blue Peter Gold Badge (2007), WH Smith Fiction Award (2004), Order of the British Empire, British Book of the Year (2001), British Book Award (1998 and 1999), and Booksellers Association Author of the Year (1998 and 1999).

JK Rowling had earned many achievements during her career selling 450 million copys of her books. Now she is married to Dr. Neil Murray and had a son, David and a Daughter, Mackenzie living in UK. There she is making new books for the whole world to read. Who knows what is yet to come from JK Rowling.


jkrowling.com Bloomsbury.com alwaysjkrowling.com Mashable.com

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.