Flags for the Fallen 26,000 Flags | One Mission

THANK YOU!!! Flags for the Fallen 2021 was a huge success, thanks to you!

The National Museum of the Mighty Eighth Air Force honored and remembered the 26,000 airmen of the Eighth Air Force in World War II who never returned home over Memorial Day weekend 2021 with Flags for the Fallen: 26,000 Flags|One Mission.

26,000 48-star American flags, the flag under which these men served, and many are buried, were installed in the Mighty Eighth Museum’s Memorial Garden. More than 200 volunteers placed the flags in the ground, with many returning the following week to remove them. Four World War II Eighth Air Force veterans cut the ribbon for Flags for the Fallen, and the hundreds in attendance were treated to a B-52 flyover – a tribute from the modern Eighth Air Force to the Mighty Eighth.

In an expression of mission fulfillment, the National Museum of the Mighty Eighth Air Force is committed to making Flags for the Fallen an annual Memorial Day weekend event. Please see the information below should you be interested in participating in and/or supporting Flags for the Fallen, a unique tribute to those teenagers and young men of the Eighth Air Force who gave their lives to save the world.

World War II 8AF Veterans (left to right) Maj John “Lucky” Luckadoo, TSgt Harry Katzman, 2Lt Crawford Hicks, TSgt Gordon Fenwick (May 27, 2021)

(May 27, 2021)

21 Gun Salute by the Chatham County Sherriff’s Office | B-52 Flyover Eighth Air Force, 2d Bomb Wing, 96th Bomb Squadron, Barksdale AFB, Louisiana | CW4 Larry Hyatt, USA Ret. (May 27, 2021)

Flags for the Fallen Opening Ceremony (May 27, 2021)

Welcome & Opening Remarks - John J. O'Neil III*, Chairman of the Board | Presentation of Colors - Chatham County Sheriff's Office | National Anthem - Mark Collie* | A Mission to Remember - Scott W. Loehr, President and CEO | The Next Generation's Responsibility - The Honorable James R. Perry*, Museum Trustee | Major John H. "Lucky" Luckadoo, 8th Air Force Veteran, B-17 Pilot, 100th BG

* Denotes Son of 8th Air Force Veteran

Major John H. "Lucky" Luckadoo, 8th Air Force Veteran, B-17 Pilot, 100th BG

We thank the following for their support in honoring these heroes

JC Lewis Ford Savannah

JC Lewis Ford Hinesville

JC Lewis Ford/Lincoln Statesboro

Second Schweinfurt Memorial Association

Mr. and Mrs. Steve Snyder

Mr. Jacky Emery

Mr. & Mrs. Thomas R. McMullin

Mr. & Mrs. John J. O'Neil III

Ms. Lillian M. O'Neil

92nd Bomb Group Assn.

Mr. Austin Stephens

Mrs. Kristen McGuire

Ms. Veronica Sopher

Ms. Harriet Adams

Mr. James Keeton

Ms. Pamela Kelley

Mr. Dennis Kirchdoerfer

Mr. Daniel Sullivan

Mr. and Mrs. Bob Contino

Mr. Adam Hammett & Ms. Kerry Wilmot

Mr. David B Richardson

Mrs. Pamela S. Vining

Mr. David Alan Reynolds

Mr. & Mrs. Geoffrey K. Collier

Mr. Cody Marlenee

Mr. Ralph Gemelli

Mr. Frank Zaveral

Mr. & Mrs. Francis S Kalinowski II

Mr. & Mrs. John Lauer

Mr. Winston Emery

Mr. & Mrs. Joseph Rishkofski

Mr. Jeff Combs

95th BG Association

Mr. Thomas Kurtz

Mr. Jim McMahon

Mr. & Mrs. Peter Hirst

Ms. Sue Fox Moyer

Mr. & Mrs. Marvin L. Ray

Dr. Phil Samponaro

Ms. Shirley Geddes

Simons Political Group

Mr. & Mrs. Richard L. Noel

Ms. Jane Grismer & Nathan Dominitz

Mrs. Bonnie Oleary

100th Bomb Group Foundation, Inc.

Mr. Paul Goldstein

Mr. Wayne Oaks

Mr. Mark Nadobny

Mrs. Sherry Petska Middlemas

Mr. Bruce Loewenberg

Ms. Kathleen Seyfried

388th BG Association

91st BG Memorial Association

Mr. & Mrs. Larry & Phyliss Wilkinson

Mr. Joseph J Lopiccolo

Mrs. Cherry Whitley

Greater Pooler Chamber of Commerce

Rotary Club of West Chatham

Lions Club of Pooler

Fr. Frank Ziemkiewicz

Mr. Jack W. Coyle

Mr. Kenneth P. Hensley

Mrs. Corinne Fayo

Ms. Patti Stearns

Sarah & Ryan Sewell

390th Memorial Museum

Bernard Williams & Co.

Patricia Graner

Ellen Wagner

Mrs. Kay Butterfield

Georgia Chapter Mighty Eighth Air Force Historical Society

Mr. Stephen Yeiser

Mrs. Claudia Kocher

Joseph Owens

Ms. Wanda Harrison

Mr. Steven Harrison

Patricia, Jennifer & Thomas Lindner

Mr. Mark Terry

David Little

Mrs. Carol Koffroth

Kurt Hahn

Don & Susan Baldwin

Shannon Muchow

96th Bomb Group Association

Flags for the Fallen 2021
99-year old Major John "Lucky" Luckadoo, 100th BG Pilot 8AF
Volunteers help place the 26,000 flags in the garden | May 25, 2021
Marking out the flag garden outlines | May 24, 2021

We also want to thank the following for their support

  • Rock and Rogers Services Center
  • The Station at Savannah Quarters
  • Coca-Cola
  • Mr. Thomas Reimer


All images, videos, and information is property of the National Museum of the Mighty Eighth Air Force. Please email marketing@mightyeighth.org for more information.