Lisbon, National Library of Portugal, October 17/18, 2019

Organization: Angola Research Network


• https://tinyurl.com/angolarn


The Angola Research Network (ARN) is an entity and forum for debate that brings together the community of academics and researchers, affiliated with institutions or independent, who carry out their work on Angola from an international perspective.

The network came about from a group of researchers based at the University of Oxford and the Universidade Nova de Lisboa and quickly spread. It currently brings together researchers, both academic and independent, based in the United Kingdom, Angola, Portugal, Brazil and the United States, among other countries, being open to new members from all backgrounds.

In 2019 the ARN organizes in Portugal its First International Congress of Angolan Studies, providing a space for face-to-face debate for all specialists interested in Angolan issues. This inaugural Congress is held in Portugal for its historical-geographical situation as a mediator between Europe and Africa. In the future the Congress will meet in different locations with new partnerships.

It is sought that this meeting has a transdisciplinary and pluralist character, with well-founded approaches in various disciplines of knowledge, subject to the general theme: New paths for Angola in the XXI century. It aims to contribute to a better knowledge of Angola abroad and foster the scientific and informative interest in the new Angolan realities.

The Congress is not a preprogrammed event, but rather an open and dynamic forum. It will contemplate these four areas:

  • i) Politics, law, history and international relations: State, parties, good governance, politics and perspectives for the near future; integration in the Southern Region;
  • ii) Economy and enterprises, development models and foreign investment;
  • iii) Culture, art, literature and thought; religions; press and communication; migration and the Angolan diaspora;
  • iv) Science, technology and research.

Attendance to the congress is free. Those speakers, or their guests, who would like to take part in the Gala Dinner will pay € 25 per person.

For all questions, please contact the convenor of the Congress: Filipe Santos, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal (filipesantos @ fcsh.unl.pt).



Members of the Angola Research Network
  • Abel Djassi Amado, Simmons University
  • Alex Magalhães, Universidade de Coimbra
  • Ana Rita Amaral, University of Free State
  • Ana Stela Cunha, Universidade Nova de Lisboa
  • Andreia J. O. Silva, Université Jean Monnet (Saint-Étienne)/Université de Lyon, CELEC e Universidade do Porto, ILCML
  • Anne Pitcher, University of Michigan
  • Bogumil Koss, Université Laval
  • Bruno Sotto Mayor, Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro
  • Carmen Monereo, Universidade Nova de Lisboa
  • Carolina Nve Diaz San Francisco, Boston University
  • Cheryl Schmitz, New York University
  • Claúdia Fernandes, Universidade Óscar Ribas
  • Cláudia Gastrow, University of Johannesburg
  • Cláudio Fortuna, Universidade Católica de Angola
  • Congo Research Network
  • Crislayne Alfagali, Pontifícia Universidade Católica do Rio de Janeiro
  • D. Vasconcelos, produtora
  • Daniel Mulé, Oxfam
  • Daniella Mak, University of Pennsylvania
  • Djellal Edine Semaane, Université Mohamed Lamine Dabaghine
  • Domingos da Cruz, jornalista e investigador independente
  • Dorothee Boulanger, University of Oxford
  • Douglas Wheeler, University of New Hampshire
  • Edgar Teles, Universidade Nova de Lisboa
  • Eduardo Sassa, Universidade Católica de Angola
  • Elaine Ribeiro, Universidade Federal de Alfenas
  • Elisa Scaraggi, Universidade de Lisboa
  • Eliseu Gonçalves, Universidade de Lisboa
  • Emiliano Jamba António João, Fraternidade Teológica Latino Americana, Campinas
  • Estevam Thompson, York University
  • Filipe Calvão, Graduate Institute Génève
  • Francisco Ewerton dos Santos, Universidade Federal do Pará
  • F. Ntungila-Nkama, Université de Kinshasha
  • Fernando Torres, advogado, pesquisador independente
  • Filip Deboeck, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
  • Filipe Santos (Coordenador da Rede / Congress Convenor), Universidade Nova de Lisboa
  • Fred Bridgland, escritor e jornalista, pesquisador independente
  • Gregory Mthembu-Salter, Political Economy and Conflict Analysis (PECA) Advisor
  • Gilson Lázaro, Instituto Superior de Ciências do Trabalho e da Empresa
  • Hilarino da Luz, Universidade Nova de Lisboa
  • Iracema Dulley, Universidade Federal de São Carlos
  • Ivan Sicca Gonçalves, Universidade Estadual de Campinas
  • Jeremias Malheiro, Universidade Mandume Ya Ndemufayo
  • Jerry Kalonji, University of Lubumbashi
  • José Luís Domingos, Universidade Católica de Angola
  • José Milhazes, escritor, jornalista, pesquisador independente
  • Justin Pearce, Cambridge University
  • Karen Ferreira-Meyers, University of Swaziland
  • Laura Steil, School for International Training
  • Lazlo Passemiers, University of the Free State
  • Liliana Inverno, Instituto Politécnico de Macau
  • Luciana Gomes da Costa, advogada, pesquisadora independente
  • Luísa Tui, Universidade Federal de São Carlos
  • Marçal Paredes, Pontifícia Universidade Católica do Rio de Janeiro
  • Márcia Gonçalves, Universidade Católica de Angola
  • Marina de Mello e Souza, Universidade de São Paulo
  • Michelle Medrado, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Miguel Dias Verde, Vertgreen Global Consulting
  • Nelson Domingos António, Universidade Agostinho Neto
  • Nelson Pestana, Universidade Católica de Angola
  • Noemi Alfieri, Universidade Nova de Lisboa
  • Paulo Inglês, German Research Foundation
  • Paulo Müller, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul
  • Paulo Zua (Coordenador Executivo / Executive Coordinator), MakaAngola
  • Peter Vale, University of Johannesburg
  • Rabiu Iyanda, Osun State University
  • Rafael Coca, Universidade Estadual de Campinas
  • Reuben Loffman, Queen Mary University of London
  • Rogéria Cristina, Universidade do Estado de Minas Gerais
  • Rui Verde (Fundador e Coordenador / Founder and Coordinator), University of Oxford
  • Ruy Blanes, Universidade de Coimbra
  • Salvador Tito, Universidade da Beira Interior
  • Santiago Ripoll, Institute of Development Studies
  • Stepanhie Wolters, Institute for Security Studies
  • Tânia Macedo, Universidade de São Paulo
  • Tomás Tassinari, Universidade de São Paulo
  • Walter Bruyere-Ostells, Institut d'Études Politiques d'Aix-en-Provence
  • William Martin James III, Henderson State University



Angola Research Network
Biblioteca Nacional de Portugal / Portugal National Library