Vegetarians don't eat meat, fish, fowl, or the flesh of any animal. There are many different types of vegetarians. Some vegetarians exclude dairy and eggs. They might then call themselves vegan or plant-based. Some vegetarians eat dairy and eggs. This is called lacto-ovo-vegetarian. There are many different names for this way of life.
Halifax Association of Vegetarians seeks to unite all these groups into a social movement to promote a lifestyle that excludes the flesh of animals in our community. We arrange discounted vegetarian group dinners, social meetups, at restaurants around the HRM.
We hope that having these dinners will make restaurants realize the importance of offering and serving great vegetarian options. Most vegetarians (especially vegans) know that, although it seems obvious that restaurants should know to carry vegetarian options on their menu, there are still places were the only option is green salad and/or fries.