Manchester United

FOUNDED IN 1878 AS NEWTON HEATH L&YR FOOTBALL CLUB THE CLUB HAS OPERATED FOR OVER 138 YEARS, THE TEAM FIRST ENTERED THE ENGLISH FIRST DIVISION THEN THE HIGHEST LEAGUE IN ENGLISH FOOTBALL. THE CLUB NAME CHANGED TO MANCHESTER UNITED FOOTBALL CLUB IN 1902, AND WE WON THE FIRST OF OUR 20 ENGLISH LEAGUE TITLES IN 1908. IN 1910, WE MOVED TO OLD TRAFFORD, OUR CURRENT STADIUM.In the late 1940s, we returned to on-field success, winning the FA Cup in 1948 and finishing within the top four league positions during each of the first five seasons immediately following the Second World War. During the 1950s, we continued our on-field success under the leadership of manager Sir Matt Busby, who built a popular and famous team based on youth players known as the "Busby Babes." At the end of the 2012/13 season, Sir Alex Ferguson retired as team manager. Sir Alex remains a key member of the club as he is a director of Manchester United FC. David Moyes was our manager during the 2013/14 season and departed the club in April 2014. Following this departure, Ryan Giggs assumed responsibility for the first team as interim manager. On 19 May 2014, we announced Louis van Gaal as the new team manager of Manchester United under a three-year contract. Louis van Gaal has managed at the top level of European football for over 20 years, and, in that time, he has won domestic titles and domestic cups in three countries, as well as the UEFA Champions League, the UEFA Cup, an Intercontinental Cup, two UEFA Super Cups and domestic Super Cups in Holland and Germany. Louis van Gaal took his new post in July 2014 after the FIFA World Cup, where he managed the Dutch national team into third place position.

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.