Islam An abrahAmic monotheistic religion By: Nia Flynn


Islam is a Universal religion.

The hearth of Islam can be tracked back to Saudi Arabia. Islam was founded in about 610 CE when the founder, Muhammad, received his first revelation from God.


Islam first started in Saudi Arabia. It spread to Palestine, the Persian Empire, and much of India. To the west, Muslims diffused across North Africa and Western Europe, including Spain. Muslims later took control of southeastern Europe and Turkey. By relocation diffusion of missionaries, Islam diffused to sub-Saharan Africa and Southeast Asia. Arab traders also brought Islam to Indonesia.

Islam is divided into two important branches: The Sunni and the Shiite.


The Star and Cresent and the Rub el Hizb are two symbols of Islam.

•The core of Islam Belief involves performing the five pillars of faith. 1.) Frequent recitation that there is no God worthy of worship except the one true God. 2.) Muslims pray five times daily facing the city of Makkah. 3.) A Muslim should give generously to charity. 4.) Muslims fast during the month of Ramadan. 5.) A Muslim makes a pilgrimage to Makkah if financially and physically able. Muslims believe Muhammad became the Prophet of Islam.

The Quran contains the sacred texts.

Muslims have mosques where they gather together as a community to worship.

Sacred Spaces to Muslims are Makkah (Mecca) and Madinah (Medina).

Created By
Nia Flynn

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.