Chile Yamil dehoyos & Adriana Camiola

1. History- The Inca ruled northern Chile Mapuche ruled central and southern Chile, prior to the arrival of the Spanish. Chile declared their independence from the Spanish in 1810, but did not officially win over the Spanish until 1818. Chile won its northern regions by defeating Peru and Bolivia in the war of the pacific. In the 1880 the mapuche were finally under central government control because economic policy's were maintained since the 1980 the county secured commitment to democratic and representative government.

2. Population and world ranking- The population of Chile is 17,650,114 and world ranking is 64.

3. Economy & GDP- Its market oriented has a high level of foreign trade and strong financial institutions. one third of the GDP account for the exporting of goods and services. The GDP is 24000 per capita (80).

4. Unemployment rate & world ranking- The unemployment rate for Chile is 16.1% and is ranked 73 in the world.

5. Main industries include copper, lithium, other minerals, fish processing, iron and steel, wood and wood products, transport equipment, cement, textiles.

6. Government type is presidential republic. In a presidential republic the president serves both the head of government and head of state and the executive branch is lead separately from the legislative branch.

7. Capitol- Santiago

8. Administrative division-There are 15 regions as follow Aysen, Antofagasta, Araucania, Arica y Parinacota, Atacama, Biobio, Coquimbo, Libertador General Bernardo O'Higgins, Los Lagos, Los Rios, Magallanes y de la Antartica Chilena, Maule, Region Metropolitana (Santiago), Tarapaca, Valparaiso

9. Independence- September 18, 1810

10. Constitution- introduced on September 11, 1980 but, was made effective on march 11, 1981.

11. Legal system- West European civil legal systems influenced the civil law system.

12. Suffrage- 18 years old

13. Executive Branch- A). The chief of state is President Michelle BACHELET Jeria B).The cabinet is appointed by the president. the president is elected by majority popular vote in two rounds if needed to elect someone for a four year term.

14. Legislative Branch- A) Bicameral. B) Senate is elected by majority vote to serve 8-year terms with one-half of the membership renewed every 4 years. The Chamber of Deputies are directly elected by majority vote to serve 4-year terms. C) Elections are held every four years.

15. Judicial Branch- A) Supreme Court has 20 members and a court president. Constitutional Court has 7 members, and Elections Qualifying Court has 5 members. B) Supreme Court judges are chosen by the president and ratified by the Senate from lists of candidates provided by the court. Judges are appointed for life with a mandatory retirement at 70 years old.

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.