Welcome to the HEA Benefits of your Membership - Home Education Association, Inc

Thank you for joining the HEA - this is your Association - together proudly supporting home educators across Australia!

Dear Member,

Welcome! I am so glad you’ve joined us. We are a not-for-profit volunteer run association; home educating parents and carers coming together to support each other.

Together, we have a voice to advocate for fair regulations to ensure that homeschooling stays legal and accessible across Australia. Together, we are able to access educational products and subscriptions that alone we would not be able to access. Together, we have purchased insurance for organisers of events and excursions in local communities, as well as insurance for work experience students.

I encourage you to make the most of your member benefits, and to get involved in your Association by volunteering.

We’re better together, so thanks for joining.

Karen Chegwidden, HEA President 2019

About Home Education

Home education involves parents and caregivers taking direct responsibility for the education of their child or children. Home education, also known as home schooling, is a legal option that embraces a wide variety of educational philosophies. People from a variety of backgrounds and educational levels are successfully home educating children of all ages.

About HEA

The HEA is a national not-for-profit, incorporated membership association serving Australian homeschoolers since 2001, when it was established by Colleen and Philip Strange. The HEA is run by a committee voluntarily coming together to lead the association. You have joined many hundreds of Australians as a member of HEA.


The mission of the HEA is to promote and support the practice of home education across Australia and to advance educational equity for members.


In order to achieve our mission, HEA will:

Increase profile of and confidence in home education

Advocate in the interests of home education

Co-ordinate and run events and conferences

Provide and facilitate service offerings

Foster networks and support groups and train volunteers

Connect to organisations and suppliers in the sector

Govern and manage the association well

Membership Benefits

Voting Rights - see Constitution & Policies

Become an HEA Volunteer, many & varied opportunities!

Nominate to be on Committee/State Chapter

Public Liability and Personal Accident Insurance to Organise Events

Student Work Experience Volunteer Accident cover insurance

Student ID cards

Google Education’s G-Suite, with a free hea.edu.au email address, plus Google Classroom access

Student software discounts

Quarterly pdf Magazine 2020

Free StoryBox Library and WorldBook subscriptions

Educational Online Subscription Discounts

Regular Newsletters

Registration Support • Advocacy with Regulators

Phone Support Helpline

Events and Conferences 2020

Your HEA Management Committee


2019 Committee Members, elected 4 May 2019

PRESIDENT: Karen Chegwidden (NSW) - president@hea.edu.au

Portfolios: Newsletters & Communication and Volunteer engagement

VICE PRESIDENT: Tere Latimer - (NSW) - vicepresident@hea.edu.au

Portfolios: Governance and Administration

SECRETARY: Ruth Easton (NSW) - secretary@hea.edu.au

Portfolios: Helpline and Registration Support

TREASURER: David Walters (VIC) - treasurer@hea.edu.au

Portfolio: IT Support/Website

COMMITTEE MEMBER: Aileen Tong (ACT) - a.tong@hea.edu.au

Portfolio: Subscriptions (subscriptions@hea.edu.au)

COMMITTEE MEMBER: Lynda Carlos (TAS) - lcarlos@hea.edu.au

Portfolio: Insurance (insurance@hea.edu.au)

2019 State Chapters: Queensland (HEAQ) - elected 25 June 2019

Fiona Edmunds - President - f.edmunds@hea.edu.au

Christine Fosbery - Secretary - c.fosbery@hea.edu.au

Kaylah Voltz - Treasurer - k.voltz@hea.edu.au

Ken Woolford - State Liaison - k.woolford@hea.edu.au

Terry Harding - Ordinary Member - t.harding@hea.edu.au

Created By
HEA Team


Created with images by Anna Earl - "untitled image" • Anna Earl - "untitled image" • Anna Earl - "untitled image" • Anna Earl - "untitled image" • Markus Spiske - "untitled image" • Chayene Rafaela - "untitled image" • Priscilla Du Preez - "untitled image"