For the Members of the NSO Information about our 2017/18 Season - A Symphonic Gallery

Welcome to our 124th season. This Spark publication is one way for you, a member of the orchestra, to draw some of the information together about the season, rehearsals, communications from the committee, and interesting information about the pieces we will be performing this year. Other sources of information are the NSO website, the season brochure, and members of the committee.

This Spark publication is specifically designed for members of the orchestra- there is an online season brochure designed to be distributed to our audience, which is linked below.

The 2017-18 season is titled "A Symphonic Gallery" with at least one piece on each programme inspired by the visual arts. If you scroll down this document, you will see a section for each concert which contains information about each piece, orchestration, and where possible a link to video or audio performance of the piece. You can also book tickets from this diary or the public brochure. If you would like to see informational videos about some of the pieces on this year's programmes, then visit the public version of the season brochure, linked below.

This page was created and is maintained by Frank Jordan- if you notice any link that is not working or there is something you'd like to see here that's missing please contact him at northamptonsymphonylibrarian@yahoo.co.uk

Fifth Concert: 16th June 2018

Programme: 16th June 2018

This concert is inspired by the great British Victorian painter and sculptor George Frederic Watts

Charles Villiers Stanford

Symphony no. 6

"In honour of the life–work of the great artist George Frederic Watts"

36 Minutes

2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets, 2 Bassoon, 4 Horns, 2 Trumpets, 3 Trombones, Harp Timpani, Strings

George Frederic Watts, self portrait

Edward Elgar

Enigma Variations

30 minutes

2 Flutes (1.2/Piccolo), 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets, 3 Bassoons (1.2.Contra), 4 Horns, 3 Trumpets, 3 Trombones, Tuba, Timpani, 3 Percussion, Strings

William Alwyn

Piano Concerto no. 1

15 Minutes

Soloist Anna Szalucka - Orchestration TBA

Sergei Prokofiev

Piano Concerto no. 1

15 Minutes

Soloist Anna Szalucka

3 Flutes (1.2.Piccolo), 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets, 3 Bassoons (1.2.Contra), 4 Horns, 2 Trumpets, 3 Trombones,Tuba, Timpani, Percussion, Strings

Friends' Concert - 15th July 2018

Programme: Friends' Concert 15th July 2018

Yes, even the Friends' programme is inspired by a piece of art!

Ottorino Respighi

Trittico Boticelliano

Inspired by a triptych of Sando Botticelli paintings - La Primavera (Spring), L’Adorazione dei Magi (The Adoration of the Magi), and La nascita di Venere (The Birth of Venus).

18 Minutes

1 Flute, 1 Oboe, 1 Clarinet, 1 Oboe, 1 Horn, 1 Trumpet, 1 Percussion, Harp, Celeste/Piano, Strings

Maurice Ravel

Le Tombeau de Couperin

17 minutes

2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets, 2 Bassoons, 2 Horns, 1 Trumpet, Harp, Strings

Astor Piazzolla

Tangazo Variations on Buenos Aires

15 Minutes

2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets, 2 Bassoons, 2 Horns, Piano, Percussion Strings

Manuel de Falla

Ritual Fire Dance

5 Minutes

2 Flutes, 1 Oboe, 2 Clarinets, 1 Bassoon, 2 Horns, 2 Trumpets, Timpani, Piano, Strings

Ralph Vaughan-Williams

Fantasia on Greensleeves

4 Minutes

1 Flute, Harp, Strings

Created By
Northampton Symphony Orchestra Jordan

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.