What is Included in The Study of Political Science? Division of Politics, Administration & Justice

  • Political science is ordinarily divided into six sub-fields:Political philosophy deals with normative questions about how power justice and the ideal state.
  • American politics is concerned with campaigns and elections, political parties, elected executives, legislative processes and public policy.
  • Public administration deals with the role played by public employees in policy-making, planning, personnel management, taxation and finance, and to the needs and problems of communities and the nation.
  • Public law is concerned with the judicial process, civil rights and liberties, and the significance of such terms as "equal opportunity" and "due process."
  • Comparative government raises questions of politics, administration and law about other countries and moves toward conclusions based on comparisons between them.
  • International relations is concerned with relations between states and other international actors, such as multinational corporations and the United Nations; and with the underlying realities of power based on resources, wealth, military preparedness and national security
  • Political science majors develop a foundation in these sub-fields and then are able to explore the areas of most interest to them through their major electives.

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.