Federal Bureaucracy By: Michael Salmon and Brandon King

Department of Agriculture(1889)

Leader: Sonny Perdue

Mission: provides leadership on food, agriculture, natural resources, rural development, nutrition and related issues based on sound public policy, the best available science, and efficient management.

Iron Triangle: Agriculture, USDA departmental management, American Farm Bureau Federation

Department of Commerce(1903)

Leader: Wilbur Ross

Mission: "promote job creation and improved living standards for all Americans by creating an infrastructure that promotes economic growth, technological competitiveness, and sustainable development".

Iron Triangle: Commerce, The Manufacturing Council, and Hispanic Chamber of Commerce

Department of Defense(1947)

Leader: Jim Mattis

Mission: provide the military forces needed to deter war and to protect the security of our country.

Iron Triangle: Defense, One Nation PAC, and the Senate Armed Services Committee.

Department of Education(1979)

Leader: Betsy DeVos

Mission: promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access.

Iron Triangle: Education, National Assessment Governing Board, and American Federation of Teachers

Department of Energy(1977)

Leader: Rick Perry

Mission: ensure America's security and prosperity by addressing its energy, environmental and nuclear challenges through transformative science and technology solutions.

Iron Triangle: Energy, National Petroleum Council, and Business Council for Sustainable Energy.

Department of Health and Human Services(1953)

Leader: Tom Price

Mission: enhance the health and well-being of Americans by providing for effective health and human services and by fostering sound, sustained advances in the sciences underlying medicine, public health, and social services.

Iron Triangle: Health and Human Services, American Cancer Society, and the EMS Coordination Committee.

Department of Homeland Security(2002)

Leader: John F. Kelly

Mission: formed after the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, as part of a national effort to safeguard the United States against terrorism.

Iron Triangle: Homeland Security, PeacePAC, Border and Maritime Committee

Department of Housing and Urban Development(1965)

Leader: Ben Carson

Mission: to create strong, sustainable, inclusive communities and quality affordable homes for all.

Iron Triangle: Housing and Urban Development, Great Lakes Commission, and Federal Housing Administration.

Department of the Interior (1849)

Leader: Ryan Zinke

Mission: protect and manage the Nation's natural resources and cultural heritage; provide scientific and other information about those resources; and honor its trust responsibilities or special commitments to American Indians, Alaska Natives, and affiliated Island Communities

Iron Triangle: Interior, National Invasive Species Council, Navajo Generating Station

Department of Justice (1870)

Leader: Jeff Sessions

Mission: To enforce the law and defend the interests of the United States according to the law; to ensure public safety against threats foreign and domestic; to provide federal leadership in preventing and controlling crime; to seek just punishment for those guilty of unlawful behavior; and to ensure fair and impartial administration of justice for all Americans

Iron Triangle: Justice, Human Factors, American Association for Justice

Department of Labor (1913)

Leader: Alexander Acosta

Mission: To foster, promote, and develop the welfare of the wage earners, job seekers, and retirees of the United States; improve working conditions; advance opportunities for profitable employment; and assure work-related benefits and rights

Iron Triangle: Labor, Wage and Hour Division, American Federation of Teachers

Department of State (1789)

Leader: Rex Tillerson

Mission: Create a more secure, democratic, and prosperous world for the benefit of the American people and the international community

Iron Triangle: State, Arms Control and International Security, Bread for the World

Department of Transportation(1967)

Leader: Elaine Chao

Mission: Serve the United States by ensuring a fast, safe, efficient, accessible and convenient transportation system that meets our vital national interests and enhances the quality of life of the American people, today and into the future.

Iron Triangle: Transportation, Air Line Pilots Association, and the Access Advisory Committee.

Department of the Treasury(1789)

Leader: Steve Mnuchin

Mission: promotes economic prosperity and ensures the financial security of the United States.

Iron Triangle: Treasury, Vanguard, and the Treasury Borrowing Advisory Committee.

Department of Veterans Affairs(1930)

Leader: David Shulkin

Mission: To fulfill President Lincoln's promise "To care for him who shall have borne the battle, and for his widow, and his orphan" by serving and honoring the men and women who are America's veterans.

Iron Triangle: Veterans Affairs, Vietnam Veterans of America, and the House Veterans' Affairs Committee.


Created with images by Muffet - "US Flag" • StateofIsrael - "Agriculture"

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.