The 6 Kingdoms The Learning Channel

Plants, Animals, Protists, Fungi

Plants, Animals, Protists, Fungi, Archaebacteria, and Eubacteria are all apart of the 6 Kingdoms. Every living creature belongs to one of these kingdoms.


Plants are many things. They are Multicellular, Eukaryotes, and Autotrophs. Plants have roots, stems, leaves, and seeds. They also use two types of reproduction. Seedless Reproduction and Seed Reproduction. There are two main types of Seedless Plants. The first type is Mosses. Mosses are non-vascular, low to the ground, do not have true roots, but have rhizoids which are anchoring structures that do not absorb water. The second type is Ferns. Ferns are vascular plants that are taller, have true roots and rhizomes, which are horizontal, underground stems, and leaves that are called fronds. The second type of reproduction of plants is called Seed Plants. Seed Plants also have to main types plants. First are Gymnosperms where the males make the pollen and the females make the eggs. The second type of Seed Plants are Angiosperms. Store their seeds in a flower. The flower ovary then swells up and becomes fruit. Plants are also divided into 4 Phylums.

Moss on a Tree
The 3 Phylums


Bryophytes differ from ferns, cone-bearing plants, and flowering plants in that they lack a vascular system for the transportation of water. Since their cells must absorb water directly from the air or the ground, nearly all bryophytes grow in moist places. Bryophytes fertilization is dependent on water. Reproduction occurs when a film of water or a raindrop splashing transfers the sperm and egg. There are also 3 classes of Mosses in Bryophyta. Here is the one of the classes:

Granite Mosses

This is the smallest group of mosses containing about 100 species. Granite mosses are small, dark, tufted plants that grow on exposed rocks in alpine and arctic regions.

Granite Mosses


Hepatophyta is the simplest of living plants and they are also Unicellular. These plants like to stay in habitats where there is a good supply of light and humidity. The reproduction of these plants are asexual and are usually caused by wind or by animals breaking the plants apart while eating them or stepping on them.



Anthocerotophyta are usually found in tropical forests, along stream sides, or in fields. Most species are small and unassuming greasy blue-green patches, but some tropical species can cover large areas of soil or the sides of trees.



Protists can be Unicellular or Multicellular, but they are always Eukaryotic which means they have a Nucleus. Protists are divided into 3 categories. Animal, Plant, and Fungus. Animals eat to get their energy. Plants make their energy. Fungus decompose to get energy.


All Fungi are Eukaryotic Heterotrophs. Most Fungi are Multicellular like Mushrooms, but some are Unicellular like Yeast. Major Characteristics of Fungi are a cell wall made of Chitin, they are made of Hyphae or stringy fibers. Instead of roots they have Mycelium and Fungi can be Saprophytic (feeds on dead things), Parasitic (feeds on living), or Mutualistic (Fungus and other organism benefit from each other). Good things about Fungi are that they are used in antibiotics and blood pressure medicines. They promote contractions during childbirth and many other things! However, Fungi can have bad things too. Fungi can kill trees and crops and there are Parasitic Fungi like Ringworm.


Archaebacteria are Prokaryotes. This means they are very simple and do not have a Nucleus inside of them. Archaebacteria are Unicellular and their DNA (their genetic material) is in a ring shape. They can be Autotroph or Heterotroph. They are also found in very extreme environments like hot springs or very salty water.

Picture of some Hot Springs.


Eubacteria are bacteria that are Prokaryotes and they can be Autotroph or Heterotroph. They also are Unicellular and have DNA that is in a ring shape. Eubacteria reproduces Binary Fission which is a kind of asexual reproduction that copies itself. The Chromosomes copy each other then separate. This type of reproduction is very fast! Also, Eubacteria live in some pretty harsh conditions. Endospores are a structure that helps some types of bacteria to survive in very harsh conditions.

Picture of Endospores


Animals are Multicellular, Eukaryotes, and Heterotrophs with cell walls that do not have cell walls. The Animal Kingdom is broken down into 9 Phyla. Only 1 Phyla has animals with backbones while the other 8 are made of invertebrate animals (without backbones).

Page Cited


Created with images by diego_torres - "deer animal richmond" • vinodvv aka vcube - "plants" • © Axel Naud - "Planckendael - Bird" • Picturepest - "Radiolarian - Podocyrtis princeps Ehr." • oliver.dodd - "fungus" • Benjamin Dobson - "Plants" • oatsy40 - "Fern" • A.Poulos (Iya) - "Moss" • Arthur Chapman - "Picea mariana (Black Spruce)" • Hans - "yellow foxglove flower flowers" • ibsut - "Moss" • pellaea - "Liverwort" • ibsut - "Moss" • benet2006 - "Liverwort, with gemmae cups" • Picturepest - "Diatomee / Diatom (fossile) - 400x" • vastateparksstaff - "Fungus" • wseltzer - "Mammoth Hot Springs, Yellowstone" • adonofrio ( - "Bacterial Spores" • Pexels - "animal animal photography bison"

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.