LTC FAQ LicensedCarry.comTexas LTC Classes from shred-911, llc
Classes are provided by SHRED-911, LLC and presented by Curtis Eggen, a certified Texas LTC Instructor. Most questions are answered in the following FAQ, but feel free to call 903-634-7473 with any questions you may have.
Frequently Asked Questions
1. How long is the class?
Texas requires 4 to 6 hours of classroom instruction, not including range and testing time.
Our classes start at 8:00 AM and are usually done before 2:30 PM, including range and testing time.
2. How much does the class cost?
We strive to keep our prices competitive, and as low as possible. LTC Classes at our Athens facility cost $75 per person. Classes held at other locations and Special Events are priced individually based on production expenses related to the particular venue.
3. What's included?
Our fee includes classroom instruction by an instructor certified by the state, class materials, range fees, and a B27 target.
It doesn't include state application fees, or the cost of state-mandated fingerprinting. Passport photos are no longer required for Texas residents with a Texas Drivers License or ID card. Notary services are not necessary when you complete your state application online.
4. What areas are covered in the class?
The state mandates classroom instruction in laws that relate to weapons and the use of deadly force; handgun use & safety; dispute resolution & communication; and safe storage practices. We will also go over range safety, legislative changes to LTC laws, and the handgun proficiency test.
5. Where is the classroom and the range?
Classes are held at the SHRED-911 Operations Center in Athens, Texas. It is located on Highway 175, just outside the Loop, east of town. We will use our on-site small private range. If you know the area, we're quite close to Smith Lumber. If you don't, you can pull up a map by clicking the button below.
6. What kind of gun can I bring?
There is no requirement that you qualify with the gun you intend to carry, although that is a good idea. You can qualify with either a revolver or a semi-automatic. You'll be demonstrating your proficiency with the firearm, so bring something you know how to use and are comfortable shooting.
Effective September 1, 2017, there is no longer a minimum caliber for qualification (the shooting portion of the class) Until then, you must use at least .32 caliber.
You'll need 50 rounds of ammunition to qualify. If you're unsure to qualify the first time, bring more rounds - you can test up to 3 times if needed, but each attempt requires 50 rounds.
7. What type of gun can I carry once I'm licensed?
Once your actual license is received and with you, you may carry any legal handgun regardless of which type of firearm you used to qualify.
8. What does it mean to "qualify" on the range?
From a standing position, you will fire 20 rounds from 3 yards, 20 rounds from 7 yards, and 10 rounds from 15 yards at a standard B27 silhouette target. To qualify, you must demonstrate safe and competent handling of your firearm, and make a minimum score. You are allowed up to three attempts.
9. What score must I make to pass the range qualification?
The minimum passing score is 70%, or 175 out of a possible 250 points.
10. What happens if I don't qualify on the range?
You may attempt the handgun proficiency test ("qualify") up to 3 times. Each attempt requires 50 rounds of ammunition. You must qualify in order to complete the requirements for your LTC. If necessary, your second attempt can be made on the same day of the qualification. If you don't then qualify, we recommend that you receive additional instruction before the third attempt.
11. What should I bring with me to class?
Note -> Do not bring firearms or ammunition into the classroom and do not handle firearms in the parking lot. All firearms should remain secured in your locked vehicle until you are briefed by the instructor.
Bring the following Paperwork:
1. Your signed Application for Instruction
2. Your signed Liability Waiver
3. Your drivers license or state-issued id card
4. Your fee (cash, check, or plastic)
Bring the following Hardware:
1. A handgun in good working condition
2. 50 rounds of factory-loaded ammunition
3. Hearing protection, eye protection, and a ball cap
4. Wear a closed-collar shirt, long pants, and closed shoes - clothing suitable for a shooting range (HOT brass!!) and the prevailing weather
Again -> Do not bring firearms or ammunition into the classroom and do not handle firearms in the parking lot. All firearms should remain secured in your locked vehicle until you are briefed by the instructor.
12. Who is eligible to obtain a Texas LTC?
There are several requirements. As a rule, you must be at least 21 years of age not otherwise prohibited from possessing a firearm. Requirements are listed under item 1 on the Texas DPS website FAQ at: http://www.dps.texas.gov/RSD/LTC/faqs/index.htm
13. What does the state charge to apply for the LTC?
Currently and in general, the license fee is $140 (after September 1, 2017 it drops to $40) for a 5-year license. Seniors, vets, and others can receive discounts. Specific fees are detailed in this document from the Texas DPS website: http://www.dps.texas.gov/RSD/LTC/documents/LTCFeeSchedule.pdf
14. Where can I get more info about the Texas LTC?
Visit the Texas DPS website: http://www.dps.texas.gov/rsd/ltc/index.htm
It's a FAQ: you've reached the end.
Click the button here to return to LicensedCarry.com