Loading

7th Grade Peek of the Week February 3-7, 2020

We have seen a decrease in the presence of cell phones and headphones in the hallway but still need to focus putting them up in the classroom. It would help us if you reinforce this with your child in not texting them during class time. Please let us know if you have any questions or concerns about these expectations!

#CelebrateMonday 2/3
  • Track tryouts
#TurnUpTuesday 2/4
  • Tutoring 3:35-4:30
  • Read 180 narratives should be complete
#WinWednesday 2/5
  • End of Workshop Assessment - Read 180
#ThankfulThursday 2/6
  • End of Workshop Assessment - Read 180
#FocusFriday 2/7
  • Club Day!

Parents, below you will find information about tryouts for Baseball, Soccer, Track, and Golf. Also check out the information about our new online physical system. If your scholar is planning to try out for Spring Sports, now is a great time to get that physical done.

Content Info For The Week

  • ELA (Gordon):This week we will continue to read “The Giver”. As a class we made a goal to finish the book in four weeks and I’m thrilled to say we are on track to achieve that goal. The majority of our grades this 9 weeks will be coming from USA test prep. Students can access this from home. As always contact me with questions and concerns.
  • Read 180 (Hester & Miller): Students will continue to use the POW strategy (Plan, Organize, Write) in order to compose and complete their narrative. Students should complete their narratives by Tuesday, February 4th. Students will end their week with the End of Workshop Assessment. This will give them the opportunity to self-check and see if they are meeting the goals we have set.
  • Math (Allmond, Fulton, Lothridge): This week, students will continue learning about shapes by building on their knowledge of 6th grade 2-D shapes in order to determine different surface areas of 3-D shapes. Towards the middle of the week students will learn about volume of 3-D figures. Math teachers will be posting content over volume in google classroom for those students who will not be here due to the Washington D.C. field trip. The unit test will be February 14th.
  • Science (Aldred & Tedder): Scholars will continue to learn about Genes, Alleles and FingerPrints. Monday and Tuesday is filled with reviewing and learning more about DNA mutations and Alleles. Then, scholars should be prepared to solve a mystery! Someone will be "Caught Red Handed" and all scholars will see just how unique all our genes are with a fingerprinting activity.
  • Social Studies (Lewis & Waddell): This week will finish up our SE Asia history unit by discussing the Korean War & Vietnam War. At this point, they should know the events of the independence of India, the establishment of communism in China, and the aftermath of Pearl Harbor and the dropping of the atomic bombs. Students will begin working on their choice board assignments on Wednesday thru the rest of the week.

Look what we have been up to!

Modeling DNA: The challenge make the longest strand of DNA @BryanCountyMS . Here are some of the Elite participants!!! And we did add mutations.
th grade social studies students participated in an inquiry station rotation today about Chinese 🇨🇳 history. They examined literature excerpts, compared photographs with government propaganda, and watched select videos to gather info about Mao Zedong’s policies.
Station rotation generated great conversations between students!
Students utilized a string in order to conduct a discovery activity where they learned about circumference, radius, and diameter. They also derived the formula for the circumference of a circle.
Everyone loves our class guinea pig, Mr. Willoughby!!

March Grade Level Field Trip to Atlanta

2019-2020 7th Grade Trip

Date: Friday, March 27th

Trip #13401

$165-Paid in Full by: March 1st

*Offered via Kelly Tours*

https://kellytours.com/

**Behavior Requirements Apply**

7th Grade Team Contact Info!

Teachers pictured from left to right:

Anna Waddell-Social Studies-awaddell@bryan.k12.ga.us

Drew Fulton-Math-dfulton@bryan.k12.ga.us

Lindsey Lothridge-Math-llothridge@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anna Lewis-Social Studies-alewis@bryan.k12.ga.us

John Allmond-ESS Math-jallmond@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bethany Gordon-ELA-bgordon@bryan.k12.ga.us

Melissa Tedder-Science-mtedder@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bobi Hester-ESS Read 180-bhester@bryan.k12.ga.us

Brandi Miller-Read 180-brandi.miller@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anne Marie Aldred-Science-aaldred@bryan.k12.ga.us

BCMS Administration Team!

Liz Raeburn-Principal-eraeburn@bryan.k12.ga.us

Abram Scott-Assistant Principal-ascott@bryan.k12.ga.us

Blaine Ennis-Assistant Principal/Athletic Director-bennis@bryan.k12.ga.us