U.S Constitution A WebSite on the u.s constitutional rights

The Constitution of the United States became a symbol of freedom to America. The writers of the Constitution made a representative government, based on these 6 basic principals: popular sovereignty, limited government, separation of powers, federalism, checks and balances,and representative government. The Constitution has now lasted more than 200 years!

  • Section 1 - Popular Sovereignty:

The people are the only source of governments power. In the preamble it states ' We the people ".

Limited Government:

Government only has the powers that the constitution gives it. It limits the term of the president, power of congress and the states.

Separation of powers:

Power divided into three branches. (Judicial, Legislative, Executive) Branches.

Checks and balances:

Each branch of government can limit the power of the other two. House of representatives can impeach the president. The president can make treatys with other nations, all treatys must be approved by 2/3 of the senate.


Power is shared among the federal government and the states. The states can make money, and enter into a federation.

Representative Government:

Citizens elect representatives to make laws. Each state chooses delegates to the electoral college. To vote for the president


Created with images by cloudbuilding - "us-flag-12" • frankieleon - "We the People" • Kt Ann - "Stop Sign" • trainer24 - "puppy tug-o-war lab" • winnifredxoxo - "balance scale" • davidmesaaz - "US Capitol Building House of Representatives" • brittanylynae - "Supreme Court"

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.