Loading

7th Grade Peek of the Week October 21-25, 2019

School Events Coming Up

Our school will be collecting canned food and non-perishable items until November 4th to help support our local community! The class with the most non-perishable items will receive donuts for breakfast!

You don't want to miss the dance! You may purchase tickets during homeroom, lunch, and/or bus dismissal!

Upcoming Field Trip Information

News and Other Notes

Planning on joining us? Please complete this form: https://forms.gle/pkHZhvKLsgcBr2vJ7
$40.00! You can use My Payments Plus to pay! Go to Parent Information/My Payments Plus on our web page.
You can get #BeBCMS newsletter in a variety of ways. It is posted to our facebook page every Sunday. It is sent out via Thrillshare based on the number you have stored as primary in Powerschool, and it is also linked on our web page. Please check your Powerschool primary phone information to make sure you can get texts from Thrillshare.

Look at everything we have been up to!

What's Happening This Week:

ELA: We are starting our new unit: Taking a Stand! I am super excited to jump into reading different types of literature and starting our new  performance task researching different human rights issues around the world. This week we will also review the elements of plot, theme, point of view, and perspective reading Rikki-Tikki-Tavi. I will put in grades for performance task 3 and the unit 2 test this week. If you have any questions please let me know. 

READ180: Students will be reading and analyzing an extended metaphor "O Captain! My Captain!" by Walt Whitman. Students will identify the imagery of President Lincoln successfully steering his ship, the United States, through the Civil War and the devastating loss of the ships captain, President Lincoln. Students will then uncover the deeper meanings in Walt Whitman's elegy for President Lincoln.

Math: This week, students will continue learning about two-step equations by completing practice problems and working on word problems. We will also begin learning about inequalities and learn how inequalities and equations are similar and how they are different. Notebook checks will continue being every Friday. The Unit 2 test will be on October 30 and 31st.

Science: It is time to begin working at becoming Elite Cell Biologist. Last week, we wrapped up Ecology. This week, we will be discussing the Chemistry of Life and Macromolecules, also known as Organic Compounds. We will go outside on Tuesday to study the elements that make up the human body. On Wednesday and Thursday, we will be working in our labs to study nutritional labels. Finally a quick check quiz (formative assessment) on Friday to see what we have learned this week. The PowerPoint and study guide will be posted to the Google Classroom. Please help us by bring in nutritional labels from all your favorite foods!

Social Studies: We are starting the last Middle East unit this week-economics! Because this unit has a large amount of vocabulary, we will spend a lot of time this week working to learn these terms. We will also look at the basic economic systems and placement on economic continuum of Saudi Arabia, Turkey, and Israel.

What Is For Lunch?

Have a question or concern? Contact Us!

Teachers pictured from left to right:

Anna Waddell-Social Studies-awaddell@bryan.k12.ga.us

Drew Fulton-Math-dfulton@bryan.k12.ga.us

Lindsey Lothridge-Math-llothridge@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anna Lewis-Social Studies-alewis@bryan.k12.ga.us

John Allmond-ESS Math-jallmond@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bethany Gordon-ELA-bgordon@bryan.k12.ga.us

Melissa Tedder-Science-mtedder@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bobi Hester-ESS Read 180-bhester@bryan.k12.ga.us

Brandi Miller-Read 180-brandi.miller@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anne Marie Aldred-Science-aaldred@bryan.k12.ga.us

Our admin team!!

Liz Raeburn-Principal-eraeburn@bryan.k12.ga.us

Blaine Ennis-Assistant Principal-Athletic Director-bennis@bryan.k12.ga.us

Abram Scott-Assistant Principal-ascott@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bryan County Middle School

600 Payne Avenue

Pembroke, GA 31321

912-626-5050

Twitter: @bryancountyms