SHARIA By: Sofie Harmon and Lexie Gomez



Muhammad was born in 570 in Mecca, Arabia (now in Saudi Arabia) and died June 8, 632 in Medina. He is the founder of the religion of Islam, accepted by Muslims throughout the world as the last of the prophets of God. The sources for the study of Muhammad are include the Quran which is the sacred scripture of Islam. Although the Quran is considered by Muslims to be the word of God and not of Muhammad, it nevertheless reveals the most essential aspects associated with Muhammad.


Sharia law is the law of Islam. The Sharia law is cast from the actions and words of Muhammad, which are called "Sunnah," and the Quran, which he dictated. Sharia law regulates public behavior, private behavior and even private beliefs.

Countries that practiCe it

  • Egypt
  • Mauritania
  • Sudan
  • Afghanistan
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • The Maldives
  • Pakistan
  • Qatar
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Yemen
  • Indonesia
  • Malaysia
  • Nigeria
  • The United Arab Emirates

Sharia Laws

Punishments are done publicly so the audience can learn a lesson and prevent them from committing the same crime in the future

  1. Theft is punishable by amputation of the right hand.
  2. Criticizing or denying any part of the Quran is punishable by death.
  3. Criticizing Muhammad or denying that he is a prophet is punishable by death.
  4. Criticizing or denying Allah is punishable by death (see Allah moon god).
  5. A Muslim who becomes a non-Muslim is punishable by death (compulsion in religion).
  6. A non-Muslim who leads a Muslim away from Islam is punishable by death.
  7. A non-Muslim man who marries a Muslim woman is punishable by death.
  8. A man can marry an infant girl and consummate the marriage when she Is 9 years old.
  9. A woman can have 1 husband, who can have up to 4 wives; Muhammad can have more.
  10. A man can beat his wife for insubordination (see Religion of Peace).
  11. A man can unilaterally divorce his wife; a woman needs her husband's consent to divorce.
  12. A divorced wife loses custody of all children over 6 years of age or when they exceed it.
  13. Testimonies of four male witnesses are required to prove rape against a woman.
  14. A woman who has been raped cannot testify in court against her rapist(s).
  15. A woman's testimony in court, allowed in property cases, carries the weight of a man's.
  16. A female heir inherits half of what a male heir inherits (see Errors In Quran).
  17. A woman cannot drive a car, as it leads to fitnah (upheaval).
  18. A woman cannot speak alone to a man who is not her husband or relative.
  19. Meat to eat must come from animals that have been sacrificed to Allah
  20. Muslims should engage in Taqiyya and lie to non-Muslims to advance Islam.


All Islamic ethics are based off of the Sharia. Sharia is literally translated to meaning "a road or the right path". Sharia is seen as the 'path' set forth by Allah for all men to follow. It is believed you will find success in the current and after-life if you follow these rules.

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.