Ch. 12 Lesson 1 Spark Page By:Weston Lundell

In February 1945, the "Big Three" allied leaders met at Yalta, a city in the Soviet Union.

Roosevelt and Churchill feared the spread of soviet control in Eastern Europe.

The allies finally agreed to divide Germany into four zones, each run by an allied power: The United States, Great Britain, the Soviet Union, and France.

On April 12, 1945 , president Roosevelt died suddenly. Harry S. Truman took office.

The UN coud not however prevent trouble between the West and the Soviets.

The iron curtain was the symbolic division between east and west in Europe during the Cold War.

Containment was the policy of holding back or stopping communism

The policy of containment soon went into effect.

Civil war raged in Greece, as communists attempted to overthrow the country's pro-Western government.

In March 1947, Truman asked congress for money to help aid Greece and Turkey.


Created with images by The National Infantry Museum and Soldier Center - "Cold War 01, Introduction"

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.