The U.S. Capitol Storming & Riots Explained

The Attack

In the afternoon of January 6, 2021, hundreds of Trump supporters stormed the U.S. Capitol Building. Many, part of the far-right, planned the insurrection on social media. It resulted in the breaking of windows, breaking into several elected official's offices, and Congressmen and Congresswoman to hide from these domestic terrorists.

Time Line of Events

From 12:15 to 12:50 P.M, at his rally, President Donald J. Trump encourages his supporters to walk to the Capitol Building.

President Donald J. Trump at his "Save America" rally on January 6th, 2021.

At 1 P.M., Members of Congress gather to count Electoral College votes in the chamber of the House of Representatives.

At 1:48 P.M., the Chief of the Capitol Police requests assistance from the U.S. National Guard. Outside of the Capitol Building, the terrorists violently confront law enforcement and barricades that lead to the steps of the building.

From 2:11 to 2:16 P.M., the rioters reach the stairs near the Senate Chamber and the Senate is called into recess to keep Members of Congress safe. The rioters also start to climb the walls of the Capitol.

Rioters climbing the walls of the U.S. Capitol Building.

At 3:13 P.M., President Trump tweets: "“I am asking for everyone at the U.S. Capitol to remain peaceful. No violence! Remember, WE are the Party of Law & Order – respect the Law and our great men and women in Blue. Thank you!”

At 4:17 P.M., President Trump posts a video on Twitter addressing the attack on the U.S. Capitol. He mentioned how the election from stolen from him and says: "But you have to go home now. We have to have peace. We have to have law and order. ... So go home. We love you, you’re very special. ... I know how you feel. But go home and go home in peace.” 

Allegations of Voter Fraud

The 2020 Presidential Election results may be the cause of the storming of the U.S. Capitol Building. President Donald J. Trump has yet to concede the victory of President-Elect Joseph R. Biden. Instead, Trump believes the election was stolen from him and that there was voter fraud.

That is not the case. President-Elect Joseph R. Biden won 51.4% of the popular vote and 306 electoral votes. Many Members of Congress including President Trump, believe there was fraudulent voting and voted to overturn election results in some states.

Some Republican Members of Congress who voted to overturn the election results. Pictured from top left to bottom right: Senator Ted Cruz (R-TX), Senator Josh Hawley (R-MO), Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Senator Rick Scott (R-FL), Senator Roger Marshall (R-KS), U.S. Representative Debbie Lesko (R-AZ 8th District), U.S. Representative Mary Miller (R-IL 15th District), and U.S. Representative Carlos A. Giménez (R-FL 26th District).

The Aftermath

The attack resulted in dozens of injuries and five deaths, including Officer Brian D. Sicknick, Ashli Babbitt, Kevin Greeson, Rosanne Boyland, and Benjamin Philips.

Benjamin Phillips, Rosanne Boyland and Kevin Greeson.

Now, President Donald J. Trump was impeached on January 13th. The House of Representatives voted to impeach him for incitement of insurrection. He is the first U.S. President to be impeached twice in the same term.

coverage in the media

Pictures capturing the devastating attack on the U.S. Capitol Building
"History will rightly remember today’s violence at the Capitol, incited by a sitting president who has continued to baselessly lie about the outcome of a lawful election, as a moment of great dishonor and shame for our nation."

Former U.S. President Barack Obama, 2020