Archipiélago de Revillagigedo A UNESCO WORLD HERITAGE SITE

what is the Archipielago de Revillagigedo?

The Archipiélago de Revillagigedo is made up of four remote islands and their surrounding waters: San Benedicto, Socorro, Roca Partida and Clarión. This archipelago is part of a submerged mountain range, with the four islands representing the peaks of volcanoes emerging above sea level. The islands provide critical habitat for a range of wildlife and are of particular importance for seabirds. The surrounding waters have a remarkable abundance of large pelagic species, such as manta rays, whales, dolphins and sharks.

The road of the Revillagigedo Archipelago

Is a great example representing the evolution and development of ecosystems and because it contains important and significant natural habitats for conservation of biological diversity.

Why is it important to look after this place?

There would be many serious things, because it is a tourist place where people should take care of it, since it is a very important and great place for people who come from other countries to admire it. That is why each person should put his or her part so that this place grows more and is better known.


Revillagigedo Archipelago are a group of four volcanic islands in the Pacific Ocean, known for their unique ecosystem. They lie approximately 390 kilometres (240 mi) southwest of Cabo San Lucas, the southern tip of the Baja California Peninsula, and 720 to 970 kilometres (450 to 600 mi) west of Manzanillo. They are located around 18°49′N 112°46′WCoordinates: 18°49′N 112°46′W. The islands have been part of Manzanillo municipality of the Mexican state of Colima since 1861, but are nevertheless under Mexican federal jurisdiction.

It is a very touristy place, many people have come to this place, it is a very large area with different types of places, there people can relax because apart from beautiful it is very quiet. The Archipelago Revillagigedo has different areas that people coming from different places can visit, there are no dangers everything is under security control. This place is composed of 4 islands: Isla Socorro, Isla San Benedict, Island Rock Departure and Isla Clarion.

Created By
Elizabeth Cetina Bailon


Created with images by Presidencia de la República Mexicana - "Declaratoria Oficial de Patrimonio Mundial de la Humanidad del Archipiélago de las Islas Revillagigedo"

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.