Islam Infograph

Islam is the religion of the Muslims, a monotheistic faith regarded as revealed through Muhammad as the Prophet of Allah.

The Quran

The Quran is the central religious text of Islam, which Muslims believe to be a revelation from God. It is widely regarded as the finest work in classical Arabic literature. The Quran is divided into chapters, which are then divided into verses.

Two major demoninations are Sunni and Shia. 90 percent of muslims are Sunnis. When Muhammad died, Shia split from Sunni.There are three main branches of Shia Islam today - the Zaidis, Ismailis and Ithna Asharis (Twelvers or Imamis).


Muhammad was an Arab polytheist who focused on earthly life instead of morality from religion. He believed as though god was speaking to him and repeated God's message. He is thought of as the restorer of monotheism beliefs.


A Mosque is a Muslim place of worship. Prayer mats are used to kneel on when praying. This helps keep the place clean. Women also pray in different rooms than men.


While praying, Muslims face in the direction of the Kaaba which is in the center of the Kaaba. Muslims also pray five times a day at times related to the phases of the moon.

Five Pillars of Islam

There are five pillars of Islam. Shahadah, Salah, Zakat, Sawn, Hajj. All five of these pillars are similar to the 10 commandments in the religion of Christianity.


Created with images by agoolapulapu - "agoo islam" • (¯`·.¸¸.¤*¨¨*¤.๑۩۩۩๑Zeyneeep! - "untitled image" • Tim Green aka atoach - "Suffa Tul Islam Central Mosque, Horton Park Avenue, Bradford" • Tupinambah - "DSCF1198" • LoggaWiggler - "khiva al khwarazmi universal scholar" • aditya_wicak - "buildings mosque sunset" • AlCortés - "Islam" • Iqbal Osman1 - "Five pillars"

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.