Chapter 11

The Cell Cycle: A series of events from the time a cell forms until its cytoplasm divides. The four main parts of the cell Cycle are cell division(includes 5 main parts), G1 phase, S phase, and G2 phase.

Interphase: The time between mitotic divisions when a cell grows. A typical cell spends majority of its life in this phase. The three main stages in interphase are: G1, S, and G2. The G1 stage has cell growth, The S stage produces DNA synthesis, and The G2 stage has checkpoints.

Prophase: aka the first stage of mitosis. The chromosomes further condense, one of the two centrosomes moves to the opposite side of the cell, microtubules assemble and form a spiritual, the nuclear envelope breaks up, and the sister chromatids are attached to the opposite centrosomes

Metaphase: The second stage of Mitosis. In this stage all the chromosomes are aligned midway between the spindle poles.

Anaphase: 3rd stage of mitosis. Sister chromatids separate and move toward opposite spindle poles.

Telophase: The final stage of Mitosis. In this stage chromosomes arrive at opposite spindle poles and decondense, as a result two nuclei form.

Telomere: A noncoding repeat of DNA sequences (repeated thousands of times) found at the ends of eukaryotic chromosomes. Telomeres keep uncontrolled cells from overrunning the body.

Cancer: express high levels of telomerase. The disease caused by an uncontrolled division of abnormal cells in a part of the body.


Created with images by matsjoyce - "3 - meta and ana"

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.