Loading

7th Grade Peek of the Week March 9-13, 2020

Field trip is on Wednesday! Make sure your child brings their lunch if they are not getting a school lunch.

We will encourage students to keep their cell phones/headphones put away during class time and during transitions in the hallway. As we move toward GMAS, we need our scholars focused on content and will try to keep distractions such as texting and social media to a minimum.
#CelebrateMonday 3/9
  • After school sports practices
  • Soccer @ BCMS vs. N. Tattnall 4:00
#TurnUpTuesday 3/10
  • Tutoring 3:35-4:30
  • Social Studies Test!
  • Math quiz
  • Soccer @ BCMS vs. Toombs 4:30
  • Baseball Game @ S. Tattnall 4:00
#WinWednesday 3/11

Field Trip to Fort King George in McIntonish County *Don't forget to bring your lunch

  • After school sports practices
  • Golf @ Black Creek vs. Metter 3:45 *Transportation will not be provided
#ThankfulThursday 3/12
  • Soccer Game 4:00 @ Toombs
  • Baseball Game 4:30 @ BCMS vs. Screven
#FocusFriday 3/13
  • Club Day!
  • Holiday March 16th & 17th

Content Info For The Week

  • ELA (Gordon): This week we will continue to work on reading The Red Scarf Girl. We are starting a Blackout poetry project this week using chapters from The Red Scarf Girl. This will give us an opportunity to value select words and focus on summarizing a chapter in a creative way.
  • Read 180 (Hester & Miller): This week student will look for potential dangers of Tough Mudder as they continue their debate ‘Is Tough Mudder a sport?’ On Wednesday we take a field trip to Fort King George. This is always a fun trip for our students! We end our week with a graphic organizer where the students will have the opportunity to evaluate information from each of the three text to share knowledge about the subject (Tough Mudder).
  • Math (Allmond, Fulton, Lothridge): Students will begin their last unit before GMAS: statistics! On Monday, students will learn about samples and populations, and by Tuesday they will learn how to draw inferences based on the population. Wednesday is the field trip, yay! Thursday students will practice everything they have learned so far in stations and by Friday, students will begin to review and learn about the measures of center.
  • Science (Aldred & Tedder): Are you READY TO RUMBLE with March Mammal Madness!  The Wild Cards battle on Monday in order to go up against the top Cats-ish vs Dogs-ish. The Tiny Terrors will also compete in Round One. All brackets are due Monday to enter the competition. #2020MMM May the best animal win! We will be looking at Classification while focusing on the Domain and Kingdom of Bacteria. We will grow Bacteria in class after scholars swab a variety of surfaces. No more second guessing the importance of washing hands and disinfecting surfaces. Finally, students will learn how to use a dichotomous key.
  • Social Studies (Lewis & Waddell): Monday is all about reviewing for their social studies test on Tuesday! On Thursday, students will make their own maps depicting a data set related to Africa and Friday is a wrap up/finalize day for grades and assignments.

Look what we have been up to!

This young lady was Mrs. Gordon's spotlight on insight. She has been working hard to analyze the text and has really gone above and beyond this week
#GoalCrushers #SRI we have been rocking this week!! We even got so excited, we forgot to take some pictures in other classes!
7th grade teachers floated to @BryanCountyMS today! We survived the flood that came down to Georgia & we are celebrating the end of the raining and greeted our scholars as they came in Friday morning!

March Grade Level Field Trip Fort King George

Field Trip Forms are on bright yellow paper!

7th Grade Team Contact Info!

Teachers pictured from left to right:

Anna Waddell-Social Studies-awaddell@bryan.k12.ga.us

Drew Fulton-Math-dfulton@bryan.k12.ga.us

Lindsey Lothridge-Math-llothridge@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anna Lewis-Social Studies-alewis@bryan.k12.ga.us

John Allmond-ESS Math-jallmond@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bethany Gordon-ELA-bgordon@bryan.k12.ga.us

Melissa Tedder-Science-mtedder@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bobi Hester-ESS Read 180-bhester@bryan.k12.ga.us

Brandi Miller-Read 180-brandi.miller@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anne Marie Aldred-Science-aaldred@bryan.k12.ga.us

BCMS Administration Team!

Liz Raeburn-Principal-eraeburn@bryan.k12.ga.us

Abram Scott-Assistant Principal-ascott@bryan.k12.ga.us

Blaine Ennis-Assistant Principal/Athletic Director-bennis@bryan.k12.ga.us