Salisbury University Cross Country

program highlights

  • One NCAA All-American (Scott Schefler, 1985)
  • Six NCAA Individual National Qualifiers
  • One NCAA Regional Champion (Suzy McCulloch, 1999)
  • 31 All-Region honorees
  • 18 Conference Championships
  • 12 Conference Runners of the Year (6 Men, 6 Women)
  • 10 Conference Rookies of the Year (6 Men, 4 Women)
  • 16 Conference Coaches of the Year (10 Men, 6 Women)
  • 187 All-CAC selections

heather delaplaine and sydney ruckel each qualified for the All-CAC First Team during the 2019 season.

ashley mazer qualified for the 2019 All-CAC Second Team, which was the third time mazer earned all-cac honors.


For the fourth consecutive year, the SU men's and women's cross country teams were honored nationally for their academic success. The women's program combined for a 3.67 GPA, while the men's team posted a combined GPA of 3.17 during the 2019-20 academic year.

Meet coach Jones

Jim Jones has served as the head coach of both the cross country program and the track & field teams since July 1999.

Coaching highlights

  • Five NCAA National Cross Country Qualifiers
  • One NCAA Regional Champion
  • One NCAA Regional Athlete of the Year
  • 19 All-Region selections
  • Two Region All-Freshman selections
  • 16 Team Conference Championships
  • Nine Individual Conference Champions
  • 14 Conference Coach of the Year awards
  • Nine Conference Runners of the Year
  • Nine Conference Rookies of the Year

SU Athletics: A Tradition of Excellence!

For over 80 years, Salisbury University athletics have played an integral part in campus life. The University's exemplary student-athletes and outstanding coaches have created a legacy of excellence that place SU's 21 NCAA Division III teams among the top programs in the nation.

The Sea Gulls have been ranked among the top 10% of the Learfield Sports Director's Cup standings for 15 of the past 16 years, with 175 conference championships, 12 CAC All-Sports Awards, 22 NCAA Division III Team National Championships and 24 NCAA Individual National Championships.