Chapter 11 How cells repRoduce

The Cell Cycle is a multi-step process leading up to and including the duplication of its DNA into two daughter cells

Interphase is the interval between mitotic divisions when a cell grows. There are three stages of Interphase: G1, S and G2.

Prophase is the first stage of Mitosis, where one of the two centrosomes move to the opposite end of the cell.

Metaphase is the second stage of cell division, where the chromosomes become attached to the spindle fibers.

Anaphase is the third step in Mitotic cell division where the chromosomes begin to separate, going to opposite poles of the spindle.

Metaphase is the final stage in cell division, in which the chromatids move to opposite ends of the cell, and two nuclei form.

Telomeres are regions of repetitive nucleotide sequences on each chromosome (red area above). These regions protect the end of the chromosome from fusion and deterioration.

Cancer is a group of diseases in which cells divide uncontrollably and abnormally and destroy body tissues. There are many types of cancer, which effect many people.

Created By
Richard Martin

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.