The Muslims holy book is called the Quran. Muslims believe that God prescribed the book to the prophet Muhammad through the Angel Gabriel. Muhammad was sent to spread the word of God.

Muslims celebrate two major festivals which are Id Al-Fitr which is the celebration of breaking the fast which celebrates the end of Ramadan and is celebrated the first three days of the month of Shawaal and Id Al- Adha which is the festival of sacrifice which celebrates the end of Hajj which is a pilgrimage and also celebrates the faith of Abraham. Muslims also celebrate Ramadan which is when they fast for one month from sunrise to sunset. They also celebrate Ashura which is when Muslims voluntarily fast. The Islamic New Year is celebrated on the first day of Muharram which is the month that the prophet Muhammad emigrated from Mecca and immigrated to Medina. Muslims follow the lunar calendar.

The two major sects of Islam are the Sunnis and the Shiites. The Sunnis are the largest sect of Islam with the majority of Muslims following. They followed Abu Bakr which was a successor of Muhammad. The Sunnis got the name because they are believed to have followed Sunnah "custom" or "tradition" of the prophet. The Sunnis follow four schools of law which are the Hanafi, Maliki, Shafi'i and the Hanbali. The Shiites are the other sect that Muslims follow 10% of Muslims follow the Shiites. One major school of thought is known as the "twelvers" and a few minor schools known as the "seveners" and the "fivers" the name is referred to the number of Imams that are recognized after Muhammad's death . "Twelver" Shiites believe thatthe 12 Imams who succeeded the prophet were sinless and made no mistakes and had been chosen by Allah through Muhammad.

People that follow islam faith follow something called the five pillars. This is something the followers go by. The five pillars are Declaration, Prayer, Charity, Fasting, Pilgrimage to Mecca..Declaration is the first act of worship, “There is no deity except god, muhammad is the messenger of god.” Followers repeat this many times a day in their prayers. Prayer is defined by Muslims prescribing a brief prayer or ritual worship five times a day which are at Dawn, Noon, Late afternoon, Sunset and night. Followers perform a ablution before each prayer which are there Hands, Mouth, Nose, Face, Arms, Feet followers pray alone or with group of people in a clean place. Friday noon prayer, is special because they get to go to a Mosque which is their place of worship, the religious leader is an Imams, if possible and face the direction of Mecca- first house of god, when they pray. Charityis described as they must give to the poor/needy. Zakat is when followers give 2 to ½ % of the income and wealth to the poor and do charity work throw out the year. Fasting is when the followers fast from dawn to dusk during the month of Ramadan (9th month in the lunar calendar). Followers must refrain from food, water, and sexual activity. Also followers abstain from negative behavior like lying, gossip,petty agreements, negative thoughts. People traveling, sick pregnant , nursing or on their menstrual cycle don't have to fast but must make up the days. Elderly and people with disabilities don't have to fast.Pilgrimage to mecca is when the followers of the Islamic faith must take a Pilgrimage (Trip) to Mecca, located in Sudan and they have to do it in there life time. The islamic holy book is the Quran, it's revealed in stages to the prophet Muhammad over 25 years

By: Meredith Mathias and Mike Wilk


Created with images by LoggaWiggler - "taj mahal mausoleum agra" • Afshad - "holy quran ramadan holy" • Erik Cleves Kristensen - "Sunset" • Greg Walters - "MOSQUE PRAYER" • Camera Eye - "Holly Ka'ba"

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.