ePortfolio Michael Higgins

Hello, I'm Michael.

I am from a small town in northeast Oklahoma called Stillwater. There are not many opportunities that come out of Stillwater, Oklahoma. I first started playing baseball at the age of six and had to lie about my age to the local parks and rec because I was two years too young to be able to play. I immediately fell in love with the game and I excelled at it. As I got older I realized that I might have a chance to make it out of Stillwater and get a scholarship to play in college. I continued to work hard and it eventually led me to the University of Central Florida where I plan to graduated with a degree in Interdisciplinary Studies in 2018.

Objectives and Education

My main goal in life is to play professional baseball. The chances of actually making it to the major leagues is very slim. If I don't make it to the major leagues, I am planning on becoming a fighter pilot in the United States Air Force. My areas of study: Commerce, Health, and a minor in Entrepreneurship along with my leadership experiences through athletics will help me be better qualified for this high ranking position. The most important part of my education is my health area of study because it will be a great advantage going into the military. Commerce will help me on the business side of becoming an officer. My entrepreneurship minor will be my safety net incase being a pilot were to not work out I would like to start my own construction company.

Experience and Volunteer work

I have had a lot of community service experience throughout my grade school career. My first community service experience was volunteering to help with our middle school special Olympics softball team. I had the pleasure to be a part of that program for two years. In high school I gave many baseball lessons to kids that were coming up through the program and wanted to be a future pioneer. To be trusted teaching these kids the game of baseball by coaches and parents was a tremendous honor and proves my leadership qualities. The most valuable experience I have had is playing baseball at the division 1 level which has helped me improve my leadership and teamwork skills which will become very useful down the road.

Hobbies and Interests

Other than baseball, I extremely enjoy playing golf. I have a family history in the sport with my dad having played professional golf when he was younger. If baseball doesn't work out I will definitely try my hand in this sport. Other than golf, my other interests and hobbies include skeet and trap shooting, snowboarding, hiking, hunting, and anything motor sports. I look forward to spending time doing these activities with my future wife and children.

Favorite Quote "When you want to succeed as bad as you want to breathe, Then you will be successful"
I believe that money can only go so far towards happiness. The goal for me to achieve true happiness is being a great father and husband and being able to provide everything my wife and kids deserve. the only way to achieve this is through hard work and trust in God.

Credits:

Created with images by sterlinggraham - "Baseballs" • Unsplash - "baseball field stadium baseball" • 50 Prime - "Lockheed F22 Fighter in Flight" • tpsdave - "golf course france landscape" • Tony A. - "Mountains" • ronkowitz - "architecture biltmore north carolina"

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.