The Americas CHapter 17 lesson 1

The Americas have four main geographical areas. They are North America, South America, Central America, and the Caribbean. Central America is an isthmus that connects North and South America which are both continents. The Caribbean are a group of islands of the coast of North America.

The Americas

Most of the people in the Americas settled in Mesoamerica which is in the middle of Central America. One of the groups of people were called the Olmecs. After the Olmecs collapsed, a group of people who's capital was Teotihuaca. There were also the Zapotec people. Another group of people were the Mayans who built an empire.

Chichen Itza, a Mayan Building

Here are some deffinitions from the lesson.

Isthmus: A narrow piece of land that connects two larger peices of land.

Maize: Another name for corn.

In South America, a group called the Moche build a large civilization. They didn't build an empire but another group called the Inca did. They were the first empire in South America. In North America, there were the Hohokam and the Anasazi. There also another group of people called the Mound Builders. They did just that, they built mounds. There were also a tribe of people called the Mississippians.

Mound from the Mound Builders
The End


Created with images by KeYang - "horseshoe bend american landscape curve" • NASA Goddard Photo and Video - "GOES Full Disk Shows First Day of Spring in the Northern Hemisphere" • guy_dugas - "el-castillo chichen-itza mayan" • werner22brigitte - "rainbow bridge lake powell arizona" • emilydickinsonridesabmx - "Cahokia_Mounds_" • geralt - "town sign place name sign final"

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.