Gayle Paragas

I am a freshman Microbiology major, but I have been recently thinking about changing my major to a humanities degree, such as English. I was born in the Philippines, but my family moved to the US in 2004, when I was around 6 or 7 years old. I learned English as a child alongside Tagalog, the official language of the Philippines, so I thankfully never had any issues concerning the language barrier in the US. At first we lived in Las Vegas with my mom's sister and her family, and we eventually moved to Greenwood, South Carolina due to my mom's job at a hospital. Ever since then, my family and I would travel to many other cities around the US. Over this summer, I went on a trip to Europe, where I visited London, Paris, Rome, and Barcelona. While in Paris, my interest in the French language and culture increased, so hopefully during my years in Clemson I will have a chance to learn and experience more of the French culture as well as many other cultures around the world.

As a kid, I had several different hobbies, some of which I still enjoy today. I love to read, play the piano, and draw. At times I can tend to be lazy and just turn off my brain to go on Netflix. I went to Emerald High School and I was on the swim team for a few years, even though I'm not a very competitive person. Overall, I believe I'm pretty open-minded and laid back. I can also be very passionate, especially when a subject or a topic captures my interest. I believe that as long as I continue to learn for the sake of learning, then I can eventually be successful and happy in whatever I choose to do.

Credits:

Created with images by Hans - "daisy flower blossom"

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.