Loading

7th Grade Peek of the Week September 16-20, 2019

The Atlanta Field Trip info & the Savannah Field Trip forms have been given out. For the ATL trip, you will directly pay the Kelly Tours website. The Savannah field trip is $2-please return that form (which is on bright pink paper) as soon as possible.

We still need donations!! Please begin to send in EMPTY 2L bottles, 32 oz. mayonnaise jars with lids, glass pickle jars with lids, etc. Stay tuned for more information and donations.

Please send in jars for our upcoming science project!

Important Information

Please make sure your child has up to date vaccinations and a copy has been provided to the school... this is required for all 7th graders!

PBIS Parent Portal letters went home on 8/23/2019. Be sure to check with your child to get access to their portal.

Athletics

Come out and watch the Redskins play some football!
We have new shirts in the Tribe Shop! Stop by at the school to pick one up. They are $15 and will soon be placed on My Payment Plus for your convenience.

Look at everything we have been up to!

What's Happening This Week:

ELA: Next week we will be wrapping up Unit 1 and preparing to crush our unit test on Wednesday and Thursday. Students have been doing elite level work on their creative writing projects. Please look out for grades and contact me with questions.

READ180: Students will be learning to analyze what is clearly stated in the text in order to make inferences about what is not clearly stated. In addition, students wil learn how to interpret the author's point of view in order to explain how it is conveyed in the text. Lastly, students will have a vocabulary assessment to show their understanding of the terms learned in this workshop!

Students will be taking the SRI on Friday, October 4, 2019.
Students will be taking their Interim Assessment on September 25 and September 26, 2019. It will cover the following information reading comprhension and vocabulary.

Math: 7th grade math students will finish working on their Fortnite Engaging Scenario this week and will determine who has created the most ELITE Fortnite Character! Wednesday and Thursday students will review for the upcoming unit test by going over practice problems and playing a game of Kahoot! Friday, students will take their first math unit test, so please remind them to study! We are ready to see how much our students have grown from the pre-test to the post-test!:)

Science: Life science scholars are still working at becoming elite ecologists! We will begin to discuss the difference between Food Webs and Food Chains and engage in a variety of activities that emphasize the importance of ecological relationships between all biotic (living) and abiotic (non-living) factors in Food Webs. We will continue to complete INB (interactive notebook) activities and we are checking to make sure all students are staying up to date with their INB. Mrs. Tedder's class will have a make-up quiz on Tuesday. Please go to our Google Classroom for study material and all Life Science classes will have a Summative Exam next week.

Social Studies: We are starting our first history unit this week: Middle East History! We are focusing on three larger concepts this week: 1-The fall of the Ottoman Empire after their siding with Germany in World War I, 2-The ongoing conflict between multiple groups in the Middle East such as the Israelis and the Palestinians, 3-The establishment of Israel after World War II and the Holocaust. Students will also begin analyzing political cartoons! As always, we will have an open notes quiz on Friday over the week's information.

What Is For Lunch?

Have a question or concern? Contact Us!

Teachers pictured from left to right:

Anna Waddell-Social Studies-awaddell@bryan.k12.ga.us

Drew Fulton-Math-dfulton@bryan.k12.ga.us

Lindsey Lothridge-Math-llothridge@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anna Lewis-Social Studies-alewis@bryan.k12.ga.us

John Allmond-ESS Math-jallmond@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bethany Gordon-ELA-bgordon@bryan.k12.ga.us

Melissa Tedder-Science-mtedder@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bobi Hester-ESS Read 180-bhester@bryan.k12.ga.us

Brandi Miller-Read 180-brandi.miller@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anne Marie Aldred-Science-aaldred@bryan.k12.ga.us

Our admin team!!

Liz Raeburn-Principal-eraeburn@bryan.k12.ga.us

Blaine Ennis-Assistant Principal-Athletic Director-bennis@bryan.k12.ga.us

Abram Scott-Assistant Principal-ascott@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bryan County Middle School

600 Payne Avenue

Pembroke, GA 31321

912-626-5050

Twitter: @bryancountyms