The Summit 2020 Celebrating excellence at City of Glasgow College

Every June we host our Summit event where we recognise the hard work of students throughout the academic year. The Summit is also a chance for the current Presidential team to formally handover the Students' Association to the new team.

Like all major events, we have had to move the Summit to a virtual space this year. The event was hosted by Ian Gilmour (pictured right) and took place on our Facebook page. We had over 750 people tune in to watch the event live!

If you haven't had the opportunity to watch the Summit yet, it is still available on our Facebook Page. Alternatively, you can watch it on YouTube here

Staff Awards

The Summit this year featured the Staff Awards. Every student at the College was given the opportunity to thank the academic and support staff who have had the biggest impact on them during their time at College. At this stage, over 450 nominations were received from students. A panel of student representatives were then sent all the nominations, that had gone through a screening process and had been anonymised. They then had the difficult decision of narrowing down these fantastic nominations!

Below you can see who was nominated in each category, and who has taken away the awards of the first ever Staff Awards.

Teacher of the Year - Education & Humanities

Ollie Brook

Pamela Barron - Winner

Karin Finegan

Dorinda Fisher

Steven Maclean

Sara Wilson

Teacher of the Year - Creative Industries

Kathleen Anderson

Giovanni Giacioa - Winner

Ruth Jeffery

Pat Padden

Joe Singh

Iain Smart

Teacher of the Year - Nautical & STEM

Manhel Alnasser - Winner

Malcolm Ferguson

Claire Guthrie

Steven Ho

Graham Paterson

Teacher of the Year - Hospitality & Leisure

Elaine Barker

Laura Burns

Mandy Hayward - Winner

Kenny McMillan

Joanne McNaught

Niall Murray

Outstanding Course

NC Hairdressing

BA Television

HNC/HND Radio - Winner

HND Legal Services

Support Staff of the Year

Robyn MacPherson

Lorna Donnet

Jade Edgar

Paul Norwood - Winner

Linda Muir

Staff and Student Collaboration

Gemma Slater - Fish Week Buffet - Winner

Louise Moore - Sock IT

Students' Association Champion Award

Chris Rooney

Congratulations to all the staff who were nominated and won an award. You are a credit to students at City of Glasgow College.

Student Recognition Awards

During this ‘new normal’ of supporting and educating our students outwith the College, the Students’ Association wanted to give staff the opportunity to champion the students who they recognise as going that extra mile for others.

Female Sports Person of the Year

Shannon Connelly

Eva Drummond

Rebeka Krupnikova - Winner

Male Sports Person of the Year

Andres Moya - Winner

Declan Hannah

Alexander McGarrie

Class Representative of the Year

Mitchell Finnell - Winner

Derek Graham

Shaun Foley

Student Executive Officer of the Year

Charlie Jones

Jason McLachlan - Winner

Society of the Year

STEM Girls

Film Society

Wellbeing Society - Winner

Volunteer of the Year

Megan MacGregor - Winner

Melissa Bannerman

Osman Eissa

ESOL Student Recognition Award

Razieh Sarafraz - Winner

Yankun Xu

Noura Alkhaled

International Student Recognition Award

Jaskaran Singh Hasria

Prakash Saroj - Winner

Harshpreet Singh

The Charitable Initiative Award

Australian Bushfire Fundraiser - Winner

Free Soup

Congratulations to all of our nominees, and of course to our fantastic award winners.

Final Remarks

The Summit event was a chance to say goodbye to our wonderful Presidential team - Dylan, Eva, Callum and Robyn. Each one of them have significantly contributed to the work of the SA this year and they will be missed. We will them all the best in their future endeavours.

We would also like to welcome the incoming Presidential team - Carlos, Bernie, Sandra and Iona. The next term is going to be very different to what we're used to, but this is a chance for them to shape the Students' Association in a completely different way!

Thank you for reading.

If you would like to keep up to date with what we're up to, please follow CitySA on: