2019 NJCAA Women's Lacrosse Championship May 18-19, 2019 | Siegert Field | Arnold, MD

Harford runs past Anne Arundel for first national championship

Behind the offensive outburst of freshman Sarah Dudick, Harford (MD) took home the program's first-ever NJCAA Women's Lacrosse Championship with a ___ victory over Anne Arundel at Siegert Field in Arnold, MD. The Fighting Owls, runners-up at the national tournament from a year ago, claimed the its first title in the program's third national championship appearance.

Harford, the top-ranked team in the nation for the final seven weeks of the regular season, topped Onondaga 22-17 in Saturday's semifinal victory. Tournament host Anne Arundel was appearing in its seventh national championship game after defeating the six-time defending champions Monroe 18-10 on Saturday.

Freshman Sarah Dudick powered the Fighting Owls' attack throughout the tournament to garner Most Valuable Player honors.

Seven different players recorded a goal in the championship game for the Fighting Owls, including five from Keeley McHugh, the freshman's second-highest goal total this season.

The Fighting Owls reached the pinnacle of NJCAA Lacrosse behind a stellar offensive performance, totaling 22 goals in both rounds of the tournament. Harford entered the tournament averaging just under 20 goals per game.

Harford's dominant effort on the offensive side of the ball was attributed to MVP Sarah Dudick who tallied a remarkable 20 goals over the course of the two games, including a career-best 12 tallies in the opening round victory over Onondaga.

On the opposite end of the field, Harford's defensive presence came up big when it mattered most. In the final 8:51 of Saturday's win and the closing 5:46 of action in the championship game, the Fighting Owl defense managed to shut out its opposition to pull away in each contest.

Anne Arundel, two-time NJCAA champions, finished as runners-up for the fifth time in program history. The Riverhawks were led in the championship game by Natalie Sonntag's four goals while Bridgette Tayman and Jordan Snyder each tallied two goals.

Anne Arundel was in search of a second consecutive win over Harford after the Riverhawks upened the previously-unbeaten Fighting Owls in the NJCAA Region 20 championship, Harford's first and only loss of the 2019 season.

Sarah Dudick's stellar freshman campaign for the Fighting Owls concluded with two outstanding performances in the national tournament. Dudick, who wrapped up the season with 75 goals and 89 points overall, earned MVP honors. Dudick's 75 goals are the most for an NJCAA women's lacrosse player since the 2012 season and set a new single-season program record at Harford.

Harford landed four players on the All-Tournament team featuring Sarah Dudick, Keely McHugh, Samamy DeCarlo, and Amanda Cliffe.

Anne Arundel's All-Tournament selections consisted of Natalie Sonntag, Jordan Snyder, Jessica Grusholt, and Sarah Healy. Onondaga placed two players - Kaitlyn Karleski and Katie Lawrence along with Monroe's Mackenzie Storto and Krysten Stone.

Harford goalie Amanda Cliffe stopped 21 shots in total on the weekend, including seven saves in the championship game. Cliffe served as the Fighting Owls' defensive stallwart in the cage all season long. Cliffe's efforts throughout the weekend earned the freshman Defensive MVP honors.

The Fighting Owls of Harford are the 2019 NJCAA Women's Lacrosse Champions!
Monroe's historic run as the most dominant junior college women's lacrosse program came to an end, but not before another national tournament appearance. From 2013-19, the Tribunes captured six national championships across six undefeated seasons, a stretch that included an NJCAA record 98-game winning streak.
2019 NJCAA Women's Lacrosse Championship Photo Gallery

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a copyright violation, please follow the DMCA section in the Terms of Use.