HSSC Review School Year 2017-2018

Empowering #StudentVoice

The first neighbor island student member since 2005 with the selection of BOE Student Member Maya Gee.
HIDOE welcomes a new visionary leader with Superintendent Dr. Christina M. Kishimoto.

State Design for Education

New Leadership for #HIStuCo

2017-2018 HSSC Executive Board with Waipahu High's Neil Castaneda as Chairperson.

Superintendent Kishimoto at #HIStuCo

A Leader with a Vision

Dr. Kishimoto offered a visionary plan to include #StudentVoice in Hawaiʻi's educational goals. One part of the state's strategic plan for education is centered around #StudentVoice. Dr. Kishimoto shared that she is committed to making Hawaiʻi an educational leader and model for the country. It was a great opportunity to meet with our state's top educational leader.

Ewa Makai's Vanessa Ching

SAC Leadership

Vanessa has made a tremendous impact on the culture at Ewa Makai Middle as coordinator of Student Activities and Green Initiatives, teaching students to reduce their carbon footprints and that of the entire school," said Superintendent Dr. Christina Kishimoto.

Student Activities Coordinator, Green Initiatives Coordinator and Student Leadership and Yearbook Advisor at Ewa Makai Middle.

2018 Hawaii State Teacher of the Year

Kailua High's Gold Efforts

A 3x National Gold Council of Excellence by the National Student Council featured in Go Kailua Magazine in December 2017.

BOE Student Member Maya Gee selected as USSYP Delegate

Student Member Gee was selected as one of two in the state to attend Washington Week.
She also received a $10,000 scholarship from the Hearst Foundations.

Secondary Student Conference 2018

Over the course of two days, students had the opportunity to network amongst legislators and other students from across the state. Delegates also learned about student and legislative concerns in education and advocated for issues they were most passionate about. The students that attended this conference enjoyed interacting with like-minded individuals as they engaged themselves during this unique and civic-based opportunity. This was truly an exciting experience for everyone.

Hawaii's Student-Led Efforts for Change

National Gold for Student Councils across Hawaii

Congratulations to the following schools:

Aiea High School, Campbell High School, Kailua High School, Mililani High School, Moanalua High School, Radford High School, Waiākea High School, Farrington High School, and Highlands Intermediate School.

NatStuCo applauds the work of each council and challenges them to continue their efforts to improve their schools and communities through their leadership and service. NatStuCo is proud to honor these student councils for implementing a strong leadership program that meets council goals; functioning in an ethical and responsible way; and engaging others in leadership, spirit, civic, and service activities.

2018 Hawaii Citizen-Scholars

A full-page piece in the Honolulu Star Advertiser. Sponsored by HLTA, HIDOE, and the Star Advertiser.

Congratulations to the following #HIStuCo members:

Stay Connected: @HSSC_Council

www.hssc808.weebly.com | information.hssc@gmail.com

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.