Islam Drew nash

ORIGIN- Islam began in Mecca in 610 A.D. when Muhammad founded Islam and began his teachings, Spreading all throughout Asia, including India, borders of China, and most of norther Africa.

This is the Muslim population percentage in each country throughout the world.

MAJOR BELIEFS- Muslims believe in One God, Allah. The Quran is their holy book, containing the direct words of Allah. They believe that Allah created nature, and without his intervention, there would be nothing. he serves 4 functions: Creation, sustenance, guidance, and judgement. There are 5 pillars of Islam: THE SHAHADAH- A statement of faith all Muslims recite at least one time in their lives; THE SALAT OR SALAH - A daily ritual prayer of faith done five times a day; ZAKAT- a tax paid to benefit the poor or those in need; SAWM - a fast done during the month of Ramadan; HAJJ - a pilgrimage every Muslim must do at least once in his/her life, if he or she can afford it, to the Holy city of Mecca, in modern-day Saudi Arabia. The pilgrimage begins on the 7th or 8th day of the last month of the Islamic lunar calendar, and ends on the 12th day of that same month. SHARIA LAW- Is a system of morals, religious observance, ethics, and politics that covers both religious and non-religious aspects of life.

This is a picture of Islams Holy Book "The Quran."

MAJOR SECTS- There are two major branches of Islam, there being the Sunni, and the Shiite. There are also Sub sects of each branch. SUNNI- The largest branch of Islam. They accept that the first four caliphs (leaders) are the legitimate successors to Muhammad. WAHABI - A Sunni sect comprised of members of the Tameem tribe in Saudi Arabia, following the strict orthodox teachings of Sheikh Mohamed bin Abdulawahab. NATION OF ISLAM - a Sunni sect that is primarily African-American, founded in the 1930s in Detroit, Michigan.

A less popular branch in Islam is the SHIITE- Or Shia, the second-largest branch of Islam, believes only the caliph Ali and his descendants are the legitimate successors to Muhammad and reject the first three caliphs. KHARIJITES - Members of the earliest sect in Islam that left the followers of Ali; their break with the Shiite was over the selection method for a new leader. They were known for uncompromising positions on the observance of the Quran and for radical fundamentalism. Today they are known as the Ibadi or Ibadities. The ALAWITE- Which is a Shiite sect based mostly in Syria. They maintain similar but different core beliefs about the divinity of Ali and seven of pillars of the faith. They also observe some Christian and Zoroastrian holidays in addition to Islamic holidays.

This is a Muslim place of worship called a "Mosque".

WORSHIP AND CELEBRATION- A celebration known as RAMADAN is a month long celebration commemorating the time during which Muhammad received the Quran from Allah. They fast from Dawn until Sunset when celebrating.

This is the celebration known as Ramadan.
Created By
Drew Nash


Created with images by charlemagne - "abu dhabi sheikh zayed mosque islamic architecture" • jennystyles315 - "In the Hotel in Turkey" • LoggaWiggler - "taj mahal mausoleum agra"

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.