MASCAC Winter 2017 Championship Recap

Worcester State men's track and field claimed their first Indoor Track and Field Championship with 198 points over runner-up Westfield State with 164 points. As a team, they had six individual league titles and a relay crown.

Ben Sattiewhite of Fitchburg State and Sam Weeks of Worcester State qualified for the NCAA ITF Championship in the high jump and weight throw. Sattiewhite finished eighth for All-American honors while Weeks was 11th in his event.

The Westfield State Owls took home their first MASCAC Indoor Track and Field Championship since 2013 this season. The Owls earned 227 points over a close runner-up in Bridgewater State with 222 points. Westfield State grabbed six individual titles and a relay crown.

Annie Woolley of Fitchburg State and Samantha Richner of Bridgewater State earned a spot in the NCAA Women's Indoor Track and Field Championships in the 60m hurdles and high jump. Woolley finished 12th while Richner was 16th in their respective events.

Salem State men's basketball earned their first NCAA Tournament bid since 2012 with a 100-82 win over Worcester in the MASCAC Men's Basketball Tournament.

Marcus Faison of Salem State was named the Tournament MVP after averaging 20.5 points, 11 rebounds while shooting 52 percent from the floor during the tournament. The Vikings went on to lose a heart breaker 84-81 in the NCAA Tournament.

Fitchburg State's Jaleel Bell was named the MASCAC Player for the second straight year, but his accolades didn't stop there. He was named to the D3 Hoops Men's Basketball All-Northeast Region Third Team, the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Northeast second team as well as the Worcester Area College Basketball Association (WACBA) First Team

Westfield State claimed back-to-back MASCAC Women's Basketball Tournament titles with an 83-74 win over Framingham State. With the win, they punched their ticket to a NCAA Tournament match up with Montclair State.

Jill Valley of Westfield State was named the Tournament MVP after averaging 30 points, six rebounds, five steals, 2.5 assists and two blocks per game while helping the Owls to their second straight tournament title.

Fitchburg State's Kyra Rose was named the ECAC Women's Basketball DIII New England Rookie of the Year while Framingham State's Alycia Rackliffe and Raegan Mulherin joined Rose on the All-Star team.

Bridgewater State's Jennie Lindland, Rackliffe, MCLA's Kayla Hotaling and Valley earned a spot on the New England Women's Basketball Association (NEWBA) Senior All-Star Classic roster.

Along with her second straight MASCAC Player of the Year honors, Westfield State's Jill Valley took home NEWBA First Team All-Region and D3Hoops 2016-17 Women's Basketball All-Northeast Region second team accolades.

Salem State claimed back-to-back MASCAC Men's Ice Hockey Tournament crowns with a thrilling 4-3 victory over Plymouth State in the title game. They earned a spot in the NCAA Tournament against Norwich.

Salem State's Jason Pucciarelli grabbed the Tournament MVP honors after stopping 45 of 48 shots with a .938 save percentage and earned two wins, including a shutout to help the Vikings claim their second straight MASCAC Tournament Championship.

Plymouth State's Ryan Stevens and UMass Dartmouth's Jerry Laakso earned New England Hockey Writers’ Association Division II/III All-Star accolades. They were both named First Team MASCAC All-Conference honorees back in March.

Make sure to follow all the action of the conference's 15 championship sports at and find us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram by searching MASCAC Sports.


Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.