Loading

Ely Public Schools Construction Updates

Bid Package #1 consist of a 41,500 SF addition that connects Memorial High School and Washington Elementary via a Commons area. The new additions will be constructed from exterior architectural precast wall panels, steel bar joist, metal deck, and will accommodate a new gymnasium, district offices, media center, music room, metals shop, wood shop, commercial kitchen equipment, and a large commons space for gathering. The project includes multiple existing buildings to be demolished as well as site improvements, earthwork, site utilities, and relocation of a large LP gas tank and vaporizer.

Monthly updates

Floor Plan

Area A

Work Started

  • CMU

Work in Progress

  • CMU

Work Completed

Work Upcoming

Area B

Work Started

  • CMU

Work in Progress

  • CMU

Work Completed

Work Upcoming

Access road for crane to install precast concrete wall panels

Area C

Work in Progress

  • Steel pans for ramp and installation of steel lintels (Pictured)

Work Completed

  • CMU walls and new footings

Work Upcoming

  • Concrete slab pour

Area D (ECFE)

Work in Progress

  • Punch List
  • Owner Turnover

Work Completed

  • Installation of flooring (carpet/LVT)
  • Mechanical and Plumbing Rough In
  • Ceiling grid
  • Painting
  • Installation of casework
  • Insulation of window infills
  • Installation of door frames
  • Sheet rock and mud/tape
New Unisex ECFE Bathroom

Area D1 & D2

Work Completed

  • Window Infill of classroom (Pictured)
  • Painting
  • Ceiling grid repair
  • Owner turnover

Work Upcoming

  • Punch list walk

Area E & E2

Work Completed

  • CMU half wall construction
  • Insulation of window infills and Framing of walls
  • Electrical Rough In
  • Controls Wiring
  • Installation of gyp board, mud and tape
  • Ceiling Grid
  • Sprinkler head replacement
  • Owner Turnover (Pictured)

Work Upcoming

  • Casework installation (Summer 2022)
  • Music Room flooring and acoustical panels (Summer 2022)

Area F

Work in Progress

  • Installation of boiler VFDs and controls

Work Completed

  • Installation Boiler pipe breeching
  • Plumbing for building hot water system running from new boiler location to Washington
  • Hot water heaters installed and hot water running to both schools (Pictured)

Work Upcoming

  • Installation of boiler VFDs and controls
  • Boiler Start-up

Building Exterior

Work Started

  • Precast: Started October 6, 2021

Work Completed

  • Precast Finished: October 18, 2021
  • Boilers Running: October 7, 2021

Miscellaneous

Propane Tank in New Location

Weather

  • Total rain days - 1
  • Rain days this month - 1

Safety

  • Total days worked - 118
  • Minor accident on site - 0
  • Lost time accidents - 0
  • Days without accident - 118

Groundbreaking Ceremony

May 27, 2021

Contact Information

Kraus-Anderson

Todd Erickson, Project Manager | 218-624-8626 | todd.erickson@krausanderson.com

Mike Dosan, Senior Project Manager | 218-591-0943 | mike.dosan@krausanderson.com

Jerry Palmquist, Project Superintendent | 218-206-5240 | jerry.palmquist@krausanderson.com

Allison Coffman, Project Coordinator | allison.coffman@krausanderson.com

Architectural Resources, Inc.

Scott Sosalla, Project Manager | scott.sosalla@arimn.com

Karl Larsen, Architect | karl.larsen@arimn.com

David Jordan, Professional Engineer | david.jordan@arimn.com

Mike Washburn, Mechanical Engineer | michael.washburn@arimn.com

Scott Fawkes, Senior Mechanical Designer | scott.fawkes@arimn.com