Loading

Ely Public Schools Construction Updates

Bid Package #1 consist of a 41,500 SF addition that connects Memorial High School and Washington Elementary via a Commons area. The new additions will be constructed from exterior architectural precast wall panels, steel bar joist, metal deck, and will accommodate a new gymnasium, district offices, media center, music room, metals shop, wood shop, commercial kitchen equipment, and a large commons space for gathering. The project includes multiple existing buildings to be demolished as well as site improvements, earthwork, site utilities, and relocation of a large LP gas tank and vaporizer.

Monthly updates

Floor Plan

Area A

Work in Progress

  • Site grading and soil import
  • Forming and pouring of footings and foundation walls for the new addition
  • Excavation of footings and foundations for the new addition (Pictured)
  • Excavation of footings and foundations for new ramps

Work Completed

  • Demolition of the 1975 addition
  • Demolition of existing boiler building and tunnels
  • Washington School power transfer

Work Upcoming

  • Masonry infills of first floor Memorial classrooms
Demolition of the 1975 addition

Area B

Work in Progress

  • Forming and pouring of footings and foundation walls for the new addition (Pictured)
  • Soil import and backfilling of footings/foundations

Work Completed

  • Soil import to bring site up to slab elevation

Work Upcoming

  • Site prep for the crane to install precast concrete wall panels
Forming and pouring footings and foundation walls

Area C

Work in Progress

  • CMU walls and new footings

Work Completed

  • Demolition of existing slab and walls for new ramp (Pictured)
  • Relocation of Fire and electrical panels.
  • Relocation of glycol lines

Work Upcoming

  • Steel pans for ramp and installation of steel lintels
  • Concrete slab pour

Area D (ECFE)

Work in Progress

  • Insulation of window infills
  • Installation of door frames
  • Sheetrock and mud/tape

Work Completed

  • Framing of gyp walls (Pictured)
  • Installation of door frames
  • Pouring of floor leveling material Gyp-crete

Work Upcoming

  • Installation of flooring (carpet/LVT)
  • Mechanical and Plumbing Rough In
  • Ceiling grid
  • Painting
  • Installation of casework
Pouring of floor leveling material Gyp-crete

Area D1 & D2

Work in Progress

Work Completed

  • Window Infill of classroom (Pictured)
  • Painting
  • Ceiling grid repair
  • Owner turnover

Work Upcoming

  • Punch list walk

Area E & E2

Work in Progress

  • CMU half wall construction
  • Insulation of window infills and framing of walls (Pictured)
  • Electrical rough-in
  • Controls wiring
  • Installation of gyp board and mud/tape

Work Completed

  • Infill of windows
  • Mechanical rough-in
  • Wall backing installed

Work Upcoming

  • Ceiling grid
  • Sprinkler head replacement

Area F

Work in Progress

  • Installation boiler pipe breeching
  • Plumbing for building hot water system running from new boiler location to Washington (Pictured)

Work Completed

  • Spiral staircase demolition

Work Upcoming

  • Installation of the boiler pipe breeching
  • Installation of the boiler VFDs and controls

Miscellaneous

Picked and relocated propane tank
Excavation and installation of new propane line

Groundbreaking Ceremony

May 27, 2021

Contact Information

Kraus-Anderson

Brendan Ward, Project Engineer | 612-987-9224 | brendan.ward@krausanderson.com

Mike Dosan, Senior Project Manager | 218-591-0943 | mike.dosan@krausanderson.com

Jerry Palmquist, Project Superintendent | 218-206-5240 | jerry.palmquist@krausanderson.com

Allison Coffman, Project Coordinator | allison.coffman@krausanderson.com

Architectural Resources, Inc.

Scott Sosalla, Project Manager | scott.sosalla@arimn.com

Karl Larsen, Architect | karl.larsen@arimn.com

David Jordan, Professional Engineer | david.jordan@arimn.com

Mike Washburn, Mechanical Engineer | michael.washburn@arimn.com

Scott Fawkes, Senior Mechanical Designer | scott.fawkes@arimn.com