Australia Morgan & ronja

  • Prehistoric settlers from Southeast Asia arrived on this continent before the European settlers did. In 1770, Capt. James Cook claimed it as British territory to from six colonies. These colonies merged to become the Commonwealth of Australia in 1901.
  • Their natural resources contributed to World Wars I and II through manufacturing and agriculture
  • Population: 22,992,654
  • World Ranking: 56
  • The largest part of the Australian economy is the services sector, accounting for 70% of GDP
  • Economic Agreements: Asia-wide Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership, Free Trade Agreement (FTA), Bilateral Agreements (India and Indonesia), Pacific neighbors, and Gulf Cooperation Council countries
  • GDP World Ranking: 26
  • Unemployment Rate, Rank: 13.3%, 93
  • Main Industries: mining, industrial and transportation equipment, food processing, chemicals, steel
  • Parliamentary Democracy (Federal Parliament) Government; Under a constitutional monarchy; a Commonwealth realm
  • Capital: Canberra, Australia
  • Administrative Divisions: 6 states and 2 territories; Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, Northern Territory, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria, Western Australia
  • Independence: 1 January 1901 (from the federation of UK colonies)
  • Constitution: July 9, 1900; effective 1 January 1901; amended several times, last in 1977. a vote to amend the constitution to include the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples Recognition Act 2013 is planned for early 2017
  • Legal System: common law system based on the English model
  • Suffrage (Voting Age): 18 years of age; universal and obliged. If a registered voter does not vote, they may be subject to a fine or community service.
  • Legislative Branch: Bicameral; consists of the Senate and the House of Representatives
  • Elections: Senate serves six year terms, and House of Representatives serve up to three years
  • Judicial Branch: High Court of Australia (7 justices, including chief justice), justices appointed by the governor-general in council for life with a mandatory retirement at age 70, and subordinate courts are at the federal level
  • Executive Branch: Chief of State Queen of Australia ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952); represented by Governor General Sir Peter COSGROVE (since 28 March 2014)
  • Cabinet nominated by the prime minister from among members of Parliament and sworn in by the governor general
  • Elections: the monarchy is hereditary; governor general appointed by the monarch on the recommendation of the prime minister; following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party or majority coalition is sworn in as prime minister by the governor general

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.