Loading

7th Grade Peek of the Week-Report Cards Out This Friday! October 7-11, 2019

Please send in EMPTY 2L bottles, 32 oz. mayonnaise jars with lids, glass pickle jars with lids, etc. This activity will end our unit on Ecology. We need jars by 10/16/19!

Please send in jars for our upcoming science project!

Important Information

Planning on joining us? Please complete this form: https://forms.gle/pkHZhvKLsgcBr2vJ7

Please make sure your child has up to date vaccinations and a copy has been provided to the school... this is required for all 7th graders!

$40.00! You can use My Payments Plus to pay! Go to Parent Information/My Payments Plus on our web page.
You can get #BeBCMS newsletter in a variety of ways. It is posted to our facebook page every Sunday. It is sent out via Thrillshare based on the number you have stored as primary in Powerschool, and it is also linked on our web page. Please check your Powerschool primary phone information to make sure you can get texts from Thrillshare.
We have new shirts in the Tribe Shop! Stop by at the school to pick one up. They are $15 and will soon be placed on My Payment Plus for your convenience.
No school on Monday, October 14th and Tuesday, October 15th!

Look at everything we have been up to!

What's Happening This Week:

ELA: We are continuing to read our unit novel "While The World Watched", with a focus on informational text. This week we are going to complete our performance task for unit 2. I can not wait to see how well our students do by creating their own connections courses. Please contact me with any questions.

READ180: Students will explore the 12-day-long manhunt for assassin, John Wilkes Booth, took Union soldiers on a wild chase from Washington, DC, through Maryland and into Virginia. Students will trace this winding journey through a strategy called, "Text Mapping." In addition, students will focus on key ideas and details as they read.

Students will take the SRI on Thursday 10/3/2019 and Friday 10/4/2019 (if needed)

Math: In math, students have just finished learning all things algebraic expressions! We have taken multiple quizzes, so be on the lookout to see how your scholar is doing. This week we will be extending our knowledge of expressions to solving algebraic equations! Please don’t forget students can make up any and all assignments, but it is up to your scholar to inform us. Rolling grade book=constant grade improvement! We will also be taking multiple daily grades weekly, so remind your scholar to stay on task. We have found this is the best way to prepare for those unit tests and for overall understanding of the harder math topics! We can’t wait for another great week at BCMS!

Science: Life Science scholars are wrapping up our unit on Ecology where students have learned many new facts about our ecosystems, specifically how biotic and abiotic factors cycle through the environment. We have learned that organisms are interdependent on one another and their environment. We will end this unit by discussing how important organic elements , like water, carbon and nitrogen, cycle through the ecosystem and are essential to all life on Earth. We will have a quick check formative assessment on Friday focusing on Vocabulary. The study guide and PowerPoints will be posted on the Google Classroom shortly. Next week, we will create our Ecosystems in the bottle and have a Summative Test on Ecology Friday. We are still asking for 2 liter bottle donations.

Social Studies: We are starting a new unit this week: Middle East Government. Students will focus on the difference between democracy types as well as comparing and contrasting the governments of Israel, Saudi Arabia, and Turkey. We will watch the PBIS documentary that covers the extreme nature of the government in Saudi Arabia and ask students to compare it to their own experiences in the United States. After finishing the video, they will begin research using a website entitled "Freedom House" to build a project related to what they have learned thus far.

What Is For Lunch?

Have a question or concern? Contact Us!

Teachers pictured from left to right:

Anna Waddell-Social Studies-awaddell@bryan.k12.ga.us

Drew Fulton-Math-dfulton@bryan.k12.ga.us

Lindsey Lothridge-Math-llothridge@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anna Lewis-Social Studies-alewis@bryan.k12.ga.us

John Allmond-ESS Math-jallmond@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bethany Gordon-ELA-bgordon@bryan.k12.ga.us

Melissa Tedder-Science-mtedder@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bobi Hester-ESS Read 180-bhester@bryan.k12.ga.us

Brandi Miller-Read 180-brandi.miller@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anne Marie Aldred-Science-aaldred@bryan.k12.ga.us

Our admin team!!

Liz Raeburn-Principal-eraeburn@bryan.k12.ga.us

Blaine Ennis-Assistant Principal-Athletic Director-bennis@bryan.k12.ga.us

Abram Scott-Assistant Principal-ascott@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bryan County Middle School

600 Payne Avenue

Pembroke, GA 31321

912-626-5050

Twitter: @bryancountyms