The Sleepy Hollow High School Athletics Department honored the young men and women who have shown a passion and commitment to their sport and team at the Annual Awards Night Banquet on June 5, 2019.

The Scholar Athlete Teams represented at the dinner included boy's cross country, girls' cross country, girl's soccer, swimming, girls tennis, volleyball, boys' indoor track, girls' indoor track, ice hockey, skiing, golf, boys' lacrosse. girls' lacrosse, softball, boys' tennis, boys' track & field and girls' track & field.

Special awards were presented throughout the evening: Phyllis Porcano Fontana Softball Award to Genesis Quezada; Track & Field Awards: Bruce Jenner to Nik Springer and Sarah Clayton; Doc Rasbeck: Max Cover and Avery Schumacher.

Ice Hockey Awards: Doc Rasbeck (MVP) Daniel Reimer; Julie Wolf (Sportsmanship) Johanna Reimer.

Rookie of the Year Awards: Ben Good and Kiera McNally.

Unsung Hero: Abubabkar Mohammed and Sara Clarke; Jack McCleery/Rotary Club Sportsmanship Award: Taylor Burnett and Julian Stoll.

Marybeth McGuire Pioneer Award: Elizabeth Lamb.

Superintendent's Awards (criteria; 90+ GPA, team captain, athletic honors): Chloe Adams, Luca Brown, Max Cover, Julia Friedman, Joshua Gottschall, Eliza Grose, Alejandra Hilario, Hannah Lustyik, Esperanza Martinez, John McNally, Casey Oppenheim, Oscar Pak, Alssy Polanco, Natalie Smith and Helen Tejada.

Senior Athlete of the Year Award: Max Cover, Natalie Smith and Sophia Meyer.

Wrestling Coach Brian Tompkins received a Special Recognition Award for his decades of dedication to students. Coach Tompkins will be inducted into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame and receive the Lifetime Service Award in September.

Congratulations to all our athletes for a job well done! "Sleep Hollow pride and spirit is here to stay."

Photos By: Gary Stellato Edited By: Grace Noone

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a copyright violation, please follow the DMCA section in the Terms of Use.