The Basic Teachings of Buddhism By Cameron Neely and Aaron Walton

Basis of Buddhism

At the core of basic Buddhism are the three jewels. They are the Buddha, Dharma, and the Sangha. The Buddha is viewed as the ideal human being that other human beings should imitate. He is a constant model of self control and mindfulness. He is viewed as existing in a timeless dimension. the Dharma means the total of Buddhist teachings about how to view the world and how to live properly. The Sangha is the community of monks and nuns. The Buddha's teachings are practical, like himself. He focused on teaching what is useful. The Buddha focused on two question, How can we minimize suffering, and how can we attain inner peace?

Three Masks of Reality

Change is the first mask. The first thing we notice when we look at life is its life's constant change. Buddha says we are often surprised by change, and pained by it, because we do not expect it, although nothing we experience in life ever remains the same. The things that seem to remain the same are just an illusion, the are actually just changing gradually. Also, people's viewpoints change. For example, the meaning of love changes as you get older and experience hardship and loss. The second mask is no permanent identity. Buddha urged people to abandon egotism and an attachment to material objects. The term "no self" is referred to as anatta. This means that each object is made up of many other objects which are always changing. The third mask is suffering. This is translated at dukkha. This focuses on that when life is lived conventionally, suffering will always be there due to constant change. The Buddha concluded that life will always be made up of suffering and sorrow.

The Four Noble Truths

First Noble Truth is to live is to suffer. To live means to experience anxiety, loss, and sometimes even anguish. The second noble truth is suffering comes from desire. Buddha saw is as coming from what we want that we will never have and never being satisfied with what we do have. The third noble truth is the end suffering, end desire. This means that the individual should focus on the present and not the past or future desires. The fourth noble truth is release from suffering can be attained by following the Noble Eightfold Path.

The noble eighTfold path

  • 1. Right understanding
  • 2. Right intention
  • 3. Right speech
  • 4. Right action
  • 5. Right work
  • 6. Right effort
  • 7. Right meditation
  • 8. Right contemplation
Created By
Aaron Walton


Created with images by Ben_Kerckx - "image buddha meditation" • Cea. - "Standing Buddha - - Detail" • saamiblog - "Read the text. A symbol of the eight fold path "Arya Magga" (the noble path of the dhamma) in early Buddhism. An intricate representation of the Dharmachakra, or Buddhist eight spoked Wheel. Dhamma or Dharma"

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.