Tech Tip Thursday May 5, 2016

Signing in to Chrome allows users to take bookmarks, documents, and extensions from device to device with only a Gmail account. However, while this is an awesome feature, users should should only log in to Chrome on TRUSTED computers.

More importantly, you should always SIGN OUT of Chrome if you are on a shared or public computer!

If you do not sign out of Chrome, the next user on that computer will have access to ALL of your Google programs - including Drive and Gmail!

Signing out only takes a few seconds and here's how to do it:

Open the Chrome Web Browser.

Go to the Chrome Menu

A quick look at the top right hand corner will tell users who is currently signed in to Chrome.

To sign-in or out of Chrome, click the three horizontal lines in the right hand corner of the screen and select Settings.

Disconnect your account.

Under the Sign in header, click the Disconnect your Google Account button.

A pop-up will appear. If you are on a public computer, you will want to check the box to clear the history, bookmarks, and extensions. Then, disconnect the account.

Note: Checking the box only deletes the data from that computer. If you sign back in, all of your saved bookmarks, history, and extensions will appear again.

Quick Tip:

Sometimes, a user might be logged in to Google but not Chrome. If you see an unfamiliar name at the top of the screen, but that user is not connected to Chrome in the settings menu, scroll further down and delete the user from the People section.

Want More Information?

Laura Sprinkle - Digital Learning Specialist
Created By
Laura Sprinkle
Appreciate
Created with images by PublicDomainPictures - "no access no entry fence" • FirmBee - "office freelancer computer" • FirmBee - "ipad google seo" • FirmBee - "office freelancer computer" • TheAndrasBarta - "cupcake sweet pastry"

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.