Loading

7th Grade Peek of the Week February 17-21, 2020

Our next field trip is to Fort King George at the beginning of March; students will receive this paperwork on Tuesday. Don't forget about our trip to Atlanta as well through Kelly Tours!

We will encourage students to keep their cell phones/headphones put away during class time and during transitions in the hallway. As we move toward GMAS, we need our scholars focused on content and will try to keep distractions such as texting and social media to a minimum.
#CelebrateMonday 2/17
  • Teacher Workday-No School for Students
#TurnUpTuesday 2/18
  • Tutoring 3:35-4:30
  • Field Trip Papers go home
  • After school sports practices
  • ELA Unit Test
#WinWednesday 2/19
  • After school sports practices
  • Geometry retest during long block class
#ThankfulThursday 2/20
  • After school sports practices
  • Geometry retest during long block class
#FocusFriday 2/21
  • Club Day!

Content Info For The Week

  • ELA (Gordon): This week we will finish up unit 4. Unit 4 test is Tuesday and I know each student will do well. Wednesday we will do some background research to prepare for our new novel “The Red Scarf Girl”. As always please let me know if you have any questions or concerns.
  • Read 180 (Hester & Miller): Students will dive into a new Workshop this week by actively watching a video on extreme sports. In this Workshop about extreme sports, students will meet daring athletes who perform daredevil stunts and endure grueling obstacle courses. They will also write an argumentative essay in which they will tell whether or not the benefits of extreme sports outweigh the risks.
  • Math (Allmond, Fulton, Lothridge): After taking the geometry assessment, we feel the students need to review surface area and volume again. Students will be re-taught this information and will be retesting the geometry unit test on Wednesday and Thursday. By Friday, we will move on to our final unit of the year, statistics and probability.
  • Science (Aldred & Tedder): Focusing on making predictions about traits and alleles, we will be illustrating traits in a variety of elite projects showcasing students understanding of probability and inheritance. Formative Assessments (Quiz) will be given Friday to begin preparing for a test next week. Students will be provided a study guide to begin wrapping up our unit on genetics.
  • Social Studies (Lewis & Waddell): This week, students will begin the unit studying the geography of Africa. This is a big unit... we will focus on the physical features and countries of the continent and students can begin learning those as it will be a large portion of their test at the beginning of March. Before jumping into this unit, students will take Tuesday to review MAP scores and growth as well as take the school climate survey administered by the state.

Look what we have been up to!

Our scholars love Kona Ice even when its cold outside!
Mrs. Gordon's students worked in groups to assess DBQ documents!
Vocabulary is underway in room 109!! #Students will be able to use topic vocabulary to generate synonyms, antonyms, images, definitions, and sentences to show understanding of words learned!
Lots of great conversations 🗣👍🏻 during our Reverse Scattegories test review! Students worked in groups to sort a list of over 50 terms related to the history of China, India, Japan, Korea, & Vietnam.
Teamwork makes that dream work!!!!!
Love ❤️ is telling someone how much you care! Ask your scholar about their Valentines card.

Deadline to sign up for the Atlanta field trip is March 1st!

March Grade Level Field Trip to Atlanta

2019-2020 7th Grade Trip

Date: Friday, March 27th

Trip #13401

$165-Paid in Full by: March 1st

*Offered via Kelly Tours*

https://kellytours.com/

**Behavior Requirements Apply**

7th Grade Team Contact Info!

Teachers pictured from left to right:

Anna Waddell-Social Studies-awaddell@bryan.k12.ga.us

Drew Fulton-Math-dfulton@bryan.k12.ga.us

Lindsey Lothridge-Math-llothridge@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anna Lewis-Social Studies-alewis@bryan.k12.ga.us

John Allmond-ESS Math-jallmond@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bethany Gordon-ELA-bgordon@bryan.k12.ga.us

Melissa Tedder-Science-mtedder@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bobi Hester-ESS Read 180-bhester@bryan.k12.ga.us

Brandi Miller-Read 180-brandi.miller@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anne Marie Aldred-Science-aaldred@bryan.k12.ga.us

BCMS Administration Team!

Liz Raeburn-Principal-eraeburn@bryan.k12.ga.us

Abram Scott-Assistant Principal-ascott@bryan.k12.ga.us

Blaine Ennis-Assistant Principal/Athletic Director-bennis@bryan.k12.ga.us