Loading

7th Grade Peek of the Week November 4-8, 2019

Way to go BCMS students & teachers for the Elite CCRPI score!
Don't forget Kona Ice is this Friday, November 8, 2019!

School Events Coming Up

Upcoming Field Trip Information

News and Other Notes

Planning on joining us? Please complete this form: https://forms.gle/pkHZhvKLsgcBr2vJ7
$40.00! You can use My Payments Plus to pay! Go to Parent Information/My Payments Plus on our web page.
You can get #BeBCMS newsletter in a variety of ways. It is posted to our facebook page every Sunday. It is sent out via Thrillshare based on the number you have stored as primary in Powerschool, and it is also linked on our web page. Please check your Powerschool primary phone information to make sure you can get texts from Thrillshare.

Look at everything we have been up to!

What's Happening This Week:

ELA:ELA will start a new novel called “A Long Walk To Water”. We are still working on performance task 2 and students will need to have their outlines submitted by Wednesday. Students will get written feedback before we start writing our drafts. Please email me with any questions.

READ180: Students will complete their planning, organizing, and drafting their response to the Focus Question from Workshop 4: How does a country respond to the death of a leader? Students will describe two people that reacted strongly to Abraham Lincoln's assassination by utilizing the TIDE and TREE writing strategies provide evidence of their thesis. Students will draft and rate themselves on the provided rubric, in order to reflect on their writing. Students will receive a Summative grade from this essay. Feedback will be provided by November 25th. .

Math: This week, students who completed the required time on iReady math will be rewarded with a kickball game and ice cream! In class, students will review their test scores for the Unit 2 test. They will work with the teacher to make corrections in order to ensure complete understanding of the content. Students will also work on completing tasks relating to expressions and equations. On Wednesday, students will begin Unit 3, ratios and proportional relationships.

Science: This week, we will continue to discover what are cells. Students are working to become Cell Biologist, so they will need to be prepared for a cell project coming soon. We will start out the week by identifying what makes up cells, explain the importance of cells and compare the difference between an animal cell and a plant cell. Then on Wednesday and Thursday, students will try their first science escape room! Can you solve the puzzles? We will wrap up the week with a fun game of Organelle Bingo and a quick check formative quiz on Friday. All PowerPoints are posted on Google Classroom.

Social Studies: We are finishing up Middle East economics this week with our test on Tuesday! Students will review for the test on Monday and make sure their study guide is completed. Wednesday and Thursday, students will work on practicing summarizing skills before starting the first DBQ essay next week. Friday, we will discuss the importance of honoring veterans in honor of Veteran's Day.

What Is For Lunch?

Have a question or concern? Contact Us!

Teachers pictured from left to right:

Anna Waddell-Social Studies-awaddell@bryan.k12.ga.us

Drew Fulton-Math-dfulton@bryan.k12.ga.us

Lindsey Lothridge-Math-llothridge@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anna Lewis-Social Studies-alewis@bryan.k12.ga.us

John Allmond-ESS Math-jallmond@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bethany Gordon-ELA-bgordon@bryan.k12.ga.us

Melissa Tedder-Science-mtedder@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bobi Hester-ESS Read 180-bhester@bryan.k12.ga.us

Brandi Miller-Read 180-brandi.miller@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anne Marie Aldred-Science-aaldred@bryan.k12.ga.us

Our admin team!!

Liz Raeburn-Principal-eraeburn@bryan.k12.ga.us

Blaine Ennis-Assistant Principal-Athletic Director-bennis@bryan.k12.ga.us

Abram Scott-Assistant Principal-ascott@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bryan County Middle School

600 Payne Avenue

Pembroke, GA 31321

912-626-5050

Twitter: @bryancountyms