Loading

Reading Newsletter Eagle PrimarY school - jULY 2019

So, here we are... the final month of the school year. It is July, the summer fair has passed and Sports' Day and End-of-Year Reports approaches. As does the chance to do some reading in the sun (hopefully!).

I have to confess that my reading has slowed down recently, but that doesn't mean I haven't lined up the next few books and my target of 8 over the holiday

I know that last month, one of the recommended reads has found its way into the hands of someone in Class 4 and has been well received. Let's see what you make of this month's books. As you know, I take great pleasure sharing my passion for reading with you.

Thanks for reading!

Mr Watson

EY/KS1 Book of the Month

The Spider & The Fly - Mary Howitz & Tony DiTerlizzi

"'Will you walk into my parlour,' said the Spider to the Fly..."

is easily one of the most recognized and quoted first lines in all of English verse.

But do you have any idea how the age-old tale of the Spider and the Fly ends? This enduring verse from Mary Howitt dates back to the nineteenth century, but its warning - to beware the wiles of flattery - remains today as relevant as ever.

Now in its tenth year, celebrated artist Tony DiTerlizzi, drawing inspiration from his love of classic Hollywood horror movies of the 1920s and 1930s, shines a cinematic spotlight on Mary Howitt's warning, written to her own children about those who use sweet words to hide their not-so-sweet intentions.

MR WATSON SAYS: My 1st experience of this book was watching Bookaboo with my daughter when she was tiny. It was read beautifully by Emilia Fox. I adored the style of the story, the illustrations by DiTerlizzi are just gorgeous and and the message... well, read it and see!

LKS2 Book of the Month

Planet Omar - Accidental Trouble Magnet - Zanib Mian

Welcome, readers, to the imaginative brain of Omar! You might not know me yet, but once you open the pages of this book you'll laugh so hard that snot will come out of your nose (plus you might meet a dragon and a zombie - what more could you want?).

My parents decided it would be a good idea to move house AND move me to a new school at the same time. As if I didn't have a hard enough time staying out of trouble at home, now I've also got to try and make new friends. What's worse, the class bully seems to think I'm the perfect target.

At least Eid's around the corner which means a feast (YAY) and presents (DOUBLE YAY). Well, as long as I can stay in Mum and Dad's good books long enough...

The combination of Zanib Mian's hilarious text and Nasaya Mafaridik's fantastic cartoon-style illustrations make the PLANET OMAR series perfect for fans of Tom Gates and Wimpy Kid.

Chosen as the CBBC Book of the Month for June 2019!

Previously published as 'THE MUSLIMS', this was the winner of the Little Rebels Award in June 2018. The text has been revised, expanded with new scenes and re-illustrated.

MR WATSON SAYS: If you like the Diary of a Wimpy Kid and Tom Gates books, and want to move onto something more than Captain Underpants, this could be the book for you. Witty and funny - meet Omar and visit his world - I'm pretty sure that the laughs are guaranteed!

UKS2 Book of the Month

The Day I was Erased - Lisa Thompson

The third read-in-one-sitting mystery from the author of unforgettable bestseller The Goldfish Boy.

Maxwell is always in trouble.

He's a total menace to his teachers and big sister, but has a soft side, too: he rescued his dog, Monster, from being run over and checks on his elderly neighbour after school.

One day, while looking through a mysterious cabinet of curiosities, Maxwell finds himself erased from his life: it's as if he's never been born.

At first, being able to walk around without being yelled at is great, but Maxwell starts to miss his old life.

And, if he'd never existed, then he wouldn't have swooped Monster out of the path of that car...

"A story of family, friendship and finding your place in the world."

MR WATSON SAYS: I first found Lisa Thompson through her first book, 'The Light Jar', which was a clever and imaginative read, that tackled some tough subject matter. 'The Day I Was Erased' is in a similar vein - what if, all of a sudden, you had never been born? But you were still there to see the world as it was without you. I loved the way it made you realise that no matter how you treat people: friend, family or enemy - you have a deep and profound effect on who they are - people aren't the same without you.

Author of the Month

Twitter: @onjalirauf

Onjali Q. Rauf

Onjali Q. Raúf is the founder of Making Herstory, an organisation mobilising men, women and children from all walks of life to tackle the abuse and trafficking of women and girls in the UK and beyond. In her spare time she delivers emergency aid convoys for refugee families surviving in Calais and Dunkirk, and supports interfaith projects. She specialised in Women’s Studies at the University of Wales, Aberystwyth and Oxford University respectively.

Onjali’s first novel, The Boy at the Back of the Class, is aimed at middle-graders and it portrays the refugee crisis through the eyes of a child in a warm, funny and moving way. It was released by Orion Children’s Books in the UK in July 2018 and it will also be published by Delacorte in America in Spring 2019, followed by her second middle-grade book, The Star Outside My Window, which will come out in October 2019.

Bio from: https://petersfraserdunlop.com/clients/onjali-q-rauf/

Books by Onjali Q. Rauf

MR WATSON SAYS: Onjali is only one book into her authorial career, with another one due out in the Autumn. The Boy at the Back of the Class, resonated with me as I have taught children in a similar position to Ahmet and stories like his should be told and read. Onjali has written the children's voices so well that they felt like children I knew. It is quite an emotive that encourages you to reflect on your own feelings about immigration.

It was awarded:

WINNER OF THE BLUE PETER BOOK AWARD 2019

WINNER OF THE WATERSTONES CHILDREN'S BOOK PRIZE 2019

SHORTLISTED FOR THE JHALAK PRIZE 2019

So, it comes well regarded!

I am really interested to see how ‘The Star Outside My Window’ follows it up.

Your Recommendations...

What book adventures have you been on?

Of course this Newsletter shouldn't be just about my choices.

I would love to hear recommendations from you too.

If you have read and enjoyed a book and think that someone else might enjoy it too, then share the name of the book and author with me, along with a brief summary of the plot and why you think someone else would enjoy the book.

Share the love of books.

You can E-mail your ideas, recommendations and reviews to: mike.watson@eagle.lincs.sch.uk

Someone once asked me what the point of reading was...

I said there were too many to count... so here's 100 reasons to read...!

Remember as always, reading is a beautifully subjective thing... if you don't like a book, think about why before giving up.

Might it be worth another chapter?

Do you understand what is happening?

Use these thoughts to shape your future choices.

HAPPY READING!!

Mr Watson

Created By
Mike Watson
Appreciate

Credits:

Created with images by Jonas Jacobsson - "untitled image". Book synopsis and author biography from Amazon.co.uk. Other sources cited.

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a copyright violation, please follow the DMCA section in the Terms of Use.