New River Art Juried Biennial 2019 at The Moss arts center of virginia tech

Coordinated by the Blacksburg Regional Art Association in conjunction with the extremely supportive staff of The Moss Arts Center at Virginia Tech. Tremendous gratitude goes to Ruth Waalkes, Margo Crutchfield, and most especially, Meggin Hicklin. Thanks also to Riley Chan and Matt Gentry for their photographic coverage of the event. Most photos shown in this piece were taken by Riley. Grateful also for the help from the art association: Teri Hoover, Charity Hall, Charlotte Chan, Jeanette Bowker and Lois Stephens.

Abby Ketcham of Blacksburg took Best in Show for her unique textile work entitled “Birth Place.” The windows of her house are stitched with images of numerous chairs signifying that home can welcome more people when it has empty chairs.
Photo Gerri Young
Photo Gerri Young
Following the awards ceremony, the “VIP” group of award winners, juror and coordinators gathered on the beautiful circular staircase in the theater lobby of The Moss. All are residents of Virginia. First row, l-r: Gerri Young, Blacksburg Regional Art Association president and main coordinator of the biennial, Emily Smith, executive director 1708 Gallery in Richmond, Va., and Amy Herzel, Blue Ridge. Second row, l-r: Bradley Chriss, Salem, Laura Vahlberg, Roanoke, Calvin Fleming, Blacksburg, and Danie Janov, Christiansburg. Third row, l-r: Meggin Hicklin, exhibition programs manager for The Moss, Dawn Waters, Konnarock, Abby Ketcham, Blacksburg, and Talia Logan, Roanoke. Not present for the photo were award winners: Jesi Pace-Berkeley, Blacksburg, William Lenard, Richmond, Mina Hatami, Blacksburg, and Andrew Hersey, Richmond.

Awards were chosen by juror Emily Smith of 1708 Gallery in Richmond. Through the use of callforentry.org, BRAA forwarded 389 works of art to her to consider. She selected 64 pieces for the walls. 64 artists from 21 towns/cities are represented in this excellent show. Emily travelled to Blacksburg to make her award selections by studying the actual pieces. Awards are as follows:

Best in Show - Abby Ketcham, Blacksburg

“Birth Place”

First Award of Excellence - Jesi Pace-Berkeley, Blacksburg


Second Award of Excellence - Cavan Fleming, Blacksburg


Award of Distinction in Sculpture - William Lenard, Richmond

William Lenard, “I’ll Be Your Lamb”

Award of Distinction in Photography - Mina Hatami, Blacksburg

“Double Exposure”

Award of Distinction in Mixed Media - Amy Herzel, Blue Ridge, Va.

“Two Plates: “there’s more of gravy than the grave”

Award of Distinction in Fiber - Dawn Waters, Konnarock, Va.

“Stephen Colbert Loves Me”

Award of Distinction in Watercolor - Danie Janov, Christiansburg

“Vestiges III”

Award of Distinction in Oil - Laura Vahlberg, Roanoke


Honorable Mention, Photography - Andrew Hersey, Richmond

“Bitterness End”

Honorable Mentions - Bradley Chriss, Salem and Taliaferro Logan, Roanoke

Bradley Chriss, “Foggy Night in the Blue Ridge Mountains, 2018
Taliaferro Logan “Gaslighting 13”
Photos of the award winners present
Miscellaneous views of this wonderful evening! Most photos on this entire spread are the work of Riley Chan of Blacksburg.

We are grateful to the following donors who so generously supported the funding of our awards: Family and friends of Nadine Allen (Mary and Charles Woerner, family); Elizabeth Calvera, Blacksburg Regional Art Assn., Floyd Center for the Arts, Joanne Leonardo Cassullo Center for Art at Roanoke College, Fine Arts Center of the New River Valley, Pulaski; The Quilting Party, Inc.; Sugar Magnolia, Blacksburg; Brown Insurance Company, Blacksburg; Cheap Joe’s Art Supply

The next New River Art Juried Biennial will take place in 2021 coordinated by the Fine Arts Center of the New River Valley

Created By
Gerri Young

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a copyright violation, please follow the DMCA section in the Terms of Use.