致欧盟委员会主席乌苏拉·冯·德莱恩夫人的公开信,请通过欧盟范围的《马格尼茨基法案》 【翻译】

Open letter to the president of the European Commission, Mrs. Ursula von der Leyen, on the adoption of an EU-wide Magnitsky Act


The Hague 1st Dec. 2019


Dear Mrs. von der Leyen,


As pleased as we were to learn that you foresee a more geopolitical commission with a more strategic, assertive and united approach to our European external relations, there is one crucial element missing in your mission letter to the new High Representative for Foreign Policy and Security Policy, Mr. Josep Borrell. This missing element is our common duty to stand up against human rights abuses and to fight impunity around the globe, by implementing an EU-wide Magnitsky Act.


The name Sergei Magnitsky will surely be familiar to you. As a Russian lawyer, he sacrificed his life at the age of 37 by standing up to corruption in his country. His name is globally synonymous with the fight against human rights abuses and corruption. His sacrifice has inspired many of us to fight impunity for human rights abuses around the world through effective legislation. It is for this reason that the Dutch government has, upon the instigation of national MPs and the European Parliament, proposed EU legislation to impose visa sanctions and asset freezes on human rights abusers. Still today, this act has not been adopted. This must change.


As the new commission president of the European Union, you have many daunting tasks ahead. We are at a crucial junction in our common history, as the world is becoming more dangerous and geopolitical powers are shifting. The choice we will make together during the bulwark of democracy and freedom in a turbulent world. With a dangerous revival of autocracies around us, human rights and political freedoms are increasingly under pressure. In order to provide an answer, the EU must stand firm in order to protect our values and must speak out with clear measures when our common values are under pressure.


If we fail to address human rights abuses with firm measures, our calls of concern will ring hollow to the victims' ears. If we fail to implement this Magnitsky Act, human rights abusers will continue to undermine humankind's most fundamental values with impunity. Targeting abusers' money abroad and their travel is one of the most effective ways of creating consequences. There can be no impunity for generals in Myanmar who hunt down Rohingyas, for arms dealers who breach the weapons embargo against South Sudan, the rapists in the central African republic or the killers of the Saudi journalist Jamal Khashoggi.


For this reason, it is of utmost importance that the Magnitsky Act is adopted and implemented as soon as possible。We call upon you and Mr. Borrell to make the adoption and introduction of an Eu-wide Magnitsky Act as one of your priorities for the first months of your Commission's tenure. We urge you to honor Magnitsky in name and fight impunity worldwide.




Sjoerd Sjoerdsma MP (Netherlands)

Andrius Kubilius MEP (Lithuania)

Andrus Ansip MEP (Estonia)

Antony Hook MEP (United Kingdom)

Arba Kokalari MEP (Sweden)

Bernard Guetta MEP (France)

Bram van Ojik MP (Netherlands)

Catherine Bearder MEP (United Kingdom)

Chris Bryant MP (United Kingdom)

Christophe Grudler MEP (France)

Cristian Ghinea MEP (Romania)

Daniel Freund MEP (Germany)

Dragoș Tudorache MEP (Romania)

Ian Austin MP (United Kingdom)

Ian Blackford MP (United Kingdom)

Inese Vaidere MEP (Latvia)

Irena Joveva MEP (Slovenia)

Irina Von Wiese MEP (United Kingdom)

Izaskun Bilbao Barandica MEP (Spain)

Javier Nart MEP (Spain)

Jacek Saryusz-Wolski MEP (Poland)

Joël Voordewind MP (Netherlands)

John Whittingdale MP (United Kingdom)

Jonathan Djanogly MP (United Kingdom)

Juozas Olekas MEP (Lithuania)

Lilianne Ploumen MP (Netherlands)

Liudas Mažylis MEP (Lithuania)

Lucy Nethsingha MEP (United Kingdom)

Luisa Porritt MEP (United Kingdom)

Maite Pagazaurtundua MEP (Spain)

Margaret Hodge MP (United Kingdom)

Martijn van Helvert MP (Netherlands)

Martin Hojsik MEP (Slovenia)

Martin Horwood MEP (United Kingdom)

Michal Šimečka MEP (Slovenia)

Nicolaus Fest MEP (Germany)

Niklas Nienaß MEP (Germany)

Olivier Chastel MEP (Belgium)

Petra de Sutter (Belgium)

Petras Auštrevičius MEP (Lithuania)

Radoslaw Sikorski MEP (Poland)

Ramona Strugariu MEP (Romania)

Rasa Jukneviciene MEP (Lithuania)

Sandra Kalniete MEP (Latvia)

Sergey Lagondinsky MEP (Germany)

Sheila Ritchie MEP (United Kingdom)

Sophie in 't Veld MEP (Netherlands)

Stephen Kinnock MP (United Kingdom)

Tom Brake MP (United Kingdom)

Urmas Paet MEP (Estonia)