Charell and Jeremy Open Arms, Open Hearts

Our Letter to You

Who's Jeremy?

Growing Up

I was born in Wichita, Kansas to my parents David and Jackie. A few years after I was born my parents divorced, which turned out to be a blessing. They both remarried and my extended family grew! Not only did it bring more presents at Christmas, but brought more love and I learned different family traditions.

Since my family doubled, I ended up with 6 sisters and 1 brother between my two homes. My siblings are all amazing and gifted in different ways, and they all inspire me every time I talk to or see them. Between my separate families, there were many different viewpoints and parenting styles. My mom raised me in the Church, which gave me a solid foundation for my core beliefs and the difference between right and wrong. My dad showed me work ethic and determination, but to always take time to laugh.

I Love Sports!!

Ever since childhood, I have loved playing sports and watching sports. When I was a kid I participated in baseball, basketball, track, golf, and bowling.

Middle School Basketball

What I remember most about playing sports wasn't winning or losing, it was learning teamwork and having fun with new friends I would have never met if I hadn't played.

As I grew up I started enjoying skilled sports more, like golf and bowling. I loved how they are mental games and how I could improve just by changing the way I thought! I've incorporated that into my daily life by always trying to be positive and look at the bright side.

What, I graduated?

In 2001, I graduated high school but had no idea what I was going to do. I started working at a restaurant, but minimum wage made it hard to pay the bills, so I decided to go to college.

I eventually decided on majoring in Mathematics and received a Bachelors of Mathematics in 2009, then went to work in the insurance industry.

I'm currently working for a company who administers Health Insurance plans, where I'm part of the Technical Operations team. I enjoy this position because it combines my love of problem solving with the insurance industry and computers.

Trying New Things

Throughout my life, people have been surprised at my curiosity of new things. I never feared the unknown, but wanted to know what was on the other side!

Blowing Glass

My most recent adventure was becoming a landlord. I turned a single-family home into a duplex. I dove right in and have learned most of what it takes to remodel a home.

I'll never forget cutting into my first water line and getting sprayed in the face, with water running everywhere. That's what I get for at one point saying, "Plumbing is easy, righty tighty lefty loosey."

Finding Myself

After graduating High School, I struggled with confidence and had no idea what I wanted to do with my life. Many of us are still trying to find ourselves at that age, and I was one of them. Luckily, I met an amazing woman, Charell, in 2005.

Charell always believes in me and doesn't doubt that I can accomplish anything in life. She always knows the right time to motivate me or when I need a good laugh. I would be lost without her!

Since we have been together, we have faced many adversities. The main thing that has kept us strong during those difficult times, is our faith. Not only our faith in God, but our faith in each other.

A Little Bit About Charell

Growing Up

I grew up in Hays, KS the oldest child of Tanya and Vernon. I have a younger sister, Cierra, and a younger brother, Collin, as well a younger step-sister, Chanelle. My parents divorced when I was 13 and my mom remarried in 2001, to my step-dad, Brian. Though my parents are no longer together, they still get along and I am lucky to have a bigger family. Growing up, and still today, my siblings call me "mama bear" because I love to take care of people, especially my family, and I have always put others needs before my own.

Staying Busy

I have always loved to be active and busy. Throughout my childhood and into high school that meant sports. I participated in dance, volleyball, softball, and track. Most summers were spent at the ball diamonds and during the school year, evenings were spent at the gym or studio, taking our homework with us to work on in between classes or practice. Every Saturday though, we took a break from all the activities and had lunch with my grandma and uncle, followed by shopping or playing. This was our family day. As we got older and moved to Colby, this wasn't a weekly occurrence anymore , but we still remain close to them and see our grandparents as often as we can.

Next Chapter

After graduating high school, I moved on to Colby Community College then to Fort Hays State University. I was the first to leave the house and I still remember crying in the driveway with my mom as I set off to leave. Though I am close to both my parents and my step-dad, my mom and I have always been especially close and we still are. She is someone that I can lean on when times are hard and someone to celebrate with during the happy times.

Family Love

My brother and sister are two of my best friends and we would do anything for each other. My dad is the one who can make me relax and forget my worries. My step-dad is a wealth of knowledge and has opened his heart up as if we were his own and for that I am grateful. I am blessed with a large, open-minded, and inviting extended family. In total, I have 6 grandparents (2 of whom have passed away), 11 aunts and uncles, and 19 cousins, many of whom are married, making the family even bigger.

Work, Work, Work

I currently work for a local non-profit agency, helping with fundraising, social media, press releases, and office work. This is what I love to do, but due to it being a non-profit, my position is only part-time. I also have a 2nd job as a bank teller and opening new accounts, which is something that I have been doing since college. If we are blessed to be chosen as adoptive parents, I will make adjustments to my work situation in order to watch my child grow up and be an active and involved parent.

The Story of Us

Watch our video to learn more about who we are together

Learn more about our day-to-day lives by going to our Facebook Page-Hoping to Adopt: Charell & Jeremy

Meet our Family

We have an awesome family full of all sorts of characters and we love each and every one of them!

The Place We Call Home

Our first home, our dream home

Our home is always open to family and friends. Whether it is for a long holiday weekend, a wedding, or just a quick stop on their way through town, we welcome them and they know that they can be themselves. We also enjoy hosting Christmas Eve every year, where about 20 family members gather for food, drinks, and a White Elephant gift exchange. We love the conversations, laughs, and barks that fill our home, and we hope that we can add a child's giggle to the list of noises that we hear in our home.

We can't wait to welcome a child into our home along with our family, friends, and pets. We hope that you have caught a glimpse of what our lives are, and what we see for our future with a child in our arms. We hope that we can get to know you and that we can be a part of the dreams that you have for your child.

Want to know more about us?

Contact Catholic Charities of Southwest Kansas at 620-792-1393.

Or check out our Facebook Page-Hoping to Adopt: Charell & Jeremy

Credits:

Created with images by lmnop88a - "Cute hands"

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.