Tire Smoking NASCAR Racing June 22, 2019 - Sponsored by Safety-Kleen Performance Plus Motor Oil & Presented by Whelen Engineering

By Jason D Searcy

June 22, 2019- Elko, MN

For the second week in a row race fans had to endure a brief rain shower just before the action began at Elko Speedway but as the clouds gave way the NASCAR racing sponsored by Safety-Kleen Performance Plus Motor Oil & presented by Whelen Engineering ramped up to put on a great show.

In the first Late Model feature sponsored by the Car Lot in New Prague (MN), rookie Late Model racer #25 Adam Oxborough took the early lead until being challenged by #32 former Thunder Car Champion Jeremy Wolff who finally took the lead on lap 11 of 30. Chad Walen #52 from Prior Lake (MN) drove up along side of Wolff and got by just past the half-way point of the race. A couple cautions slowed the field but Walen held the top spot, beating former Bando Champion #6 Owin Giles to the finish line by .507 seconds. Jeremy Wolff finished third followed by #51 Justin Neisius who moved up 7 spots to finish fourth and Adam Oxborough. Point leader and defending Champion Jacob Goede #72 was 6th of the 17 cars entered. This was the second win of the season for Walen.

The second Late Model feature had fast qualifier #3 Chris Marek from Lakeville (MN) take the early lead and hold on for the win but it was anything but easy, there was action from front to rear. Marek was challenged from beginning to end by #21 Adam Bendzick who was side by side with Marek much of the race, Bendzick finished second and #13 Bryan Wrolstad was third, that trio all finished within 1 second of each other at the line. Jacob Goede #72 was stuck in traffic and finally moved up to finish fourth at the end of the race, #26 Lawrence Berthiaume moved up 6 spots to finish fifth of the 17 cars entered. This was the first win of the season for Marek, the 8th different winner at ELKO in the Late Models this year.

Jacob Goede is the point leader, he has a 19 point lead over Chris Marek in the race for the overall Championship.

The first Genz-Ryan Thunder car feature had #75 Keith Paulsrud take the lead until fast qualifier #3 Conrad Jorgenson from Lakeville (MN) pass him on lap 13 of 20. Bryce Blohm #37 then drove up and challenged Jorgenson for the lead, it was an epic battle that ended with a drag race to the finish, Jorgenson won the race to the line by just .025 seconds. Defending Champion Blohm was second, #25 Eric Campbell third, Keith Paulsrud fourth and #56 Johnny Magnum fifth. It was the fourth win of the season for Jorgenson.

The second Thunder Car feature had #92 Norm Grabinger lead early until #37 Bryce Blohm charged up to the top spot on lap 8. Five-time ELKO Champion Conrad Jorgenson #3 then fought Blohm for the lead side by side just like the previous race. This time the outcome was different because Blohm prevailed, he won by .38 seconds at the finish line. Jorgenson was second, Eric Campbell #25 was third followed by #75 Keith Paulsrud and Norm Grabinger. It was the fourth win of the season for Blohm.

Jorgenson is the leader in the race for the Championship, he leads Bryce Blohm by 9 points.

The first 20 lap Pepsi Power stock feature had #13 Matt Frye from Bloomington (MN) take the early lead before having a hard fought battle with #56 Paul Hamilton for the top spot. Hamilton increased his lead and checked out to cross the finish line first. The battle appeared to be for second as Frye, #66 Joe Prusak and #08 Mike Stoer all crossed the finish within .271 seconds of each other side by side. As it turned out, the #56 car was disqualified in post-race inspection so Matt Fry was awarded the win, the first of his career. Prusak finished second, Stoer third, fast-qualifier Nick Oxborough #88 fourth and defending Champion #8 Taylor Goldman fifth.

The second Power Stock feature had #83 Julie Jorgenson take the early lead, she had a good battle with the #08 of Michael Stoer from Prior Lake (MN) until he finally edged out front with five laps to go. Stoer won by .077 seconds, Jorgenson was 2nd, #8 Taylor Goldman third, #88 Nick Oxborough was fourth and #66 Joe Prusak fifth. That was the first win of the season for Stoer, he is the 7th different winner this year in the Power Stocks.

Nick Oxborough #88 is the leader in the race for the Championship, he leads #08 Michael Stoer by 37 points.

The first 20 lap Great North Legends feature had #16 Matt Allen lead until the #03 of Robbie Carter took over the top spot, Carter was then passed by #8 Cole Klein, Klein then raced for the lead with fast-qualifier #71 Jon Lemke. Lemke grabbed the lead on lap 11 but then got tangled up with Klein on lap 15 and they brought out the caution. Klein took responsibility for the wreck with the “Gentlemans Tap-out rule” and that sent Lemke back up to the front of the field. After the restart #75 Baiden Heskett from Farmington (MN) charged up to the lead and won by .568 seconds, #47 Austin Jahr moved up 8 spots to finish second, Lemke was third, Matt Allen fourth and #26 Will McCully was fifth of the 17 cars entered. That was the fifth win of the season in 7 races for Heskett.

The second Legends race was led by #8 Cole Klein from Rogers (MN) early, he held a huge advantage and extended that lead to over a straight-away before a late race caution with 5 laps to go bunched up the field. Klein was able to fight back Heskett in the short sprint to the checkers and finally get his first win of the season at ELKO. Klein won by just .159 seconds over Heskett, Matt Allen #16 was third, #47 Austin Jahr fourth and #71 Jon Lemke fifth.

Baiden Heksett is the leader in the race for the ELKO Championship, he has a 38 point lead over Cole Klein.

In the first Brocks’ Flooring Bandoleros feature #14 Kody King from Forest City (IA) took the lead and looked to be cruising to a victory until #901 Alex Hartwig drove up and passed him in corner 2 on the last lap. Hartwig then pushed it a bit hard coming into the final set of turns, washed up the track and King drove back under him for the win. Hartwig held on for second, #13 Ayrton Brockhouse was third, #54 Jensen Vadnais fourth and #06 Adam Ratliff fifth of the 11 cars entered. It was the first ELKO win of the year for Kody King.

The second Bando feature had #70 Josiah Kottschade lead until #901 Alex Hartwig from Portage (WI) took over the top spot on lap 4 of 12. Hartwig was challenged by #13 Ayrton Brockhouse numerous laps but he held on for the win, it was his fourth victory in just 6 races this year at ELKO. Brockhouse finished .302 seconds behind for second, Josiah Kottschade was third, #06 Adam Ratliff fourth and #63 James Starcher from Lyman (NE) fifth.

Alex Hartwig is now 27 points ahead of Josiah Kottschade in the race for the Elko Speedway Bando Championship.

All results and points are unofficial at time of this release.

Up next at Elko Speedway is an Eve of Destruction event on Saturday June 29th with Racing, two monster trucks, Figure 8 school bus races, the ATV Big Air tour freestyle show, spectator drags, petting zoo and much more. Plus fans can join ProKart Indoor Racing on the concourse and take GoKart for a Test Drive! Gates open at 5pm! Get more information at ElkoSpeedway.com or download our free app.

Elko Speedway is a NASCAR sanctioned ⅜ mile asphalt oval race track with stadium seating located in Elko-New Market (MN), just 30 minutes South of the Twin Cities.

Created By
ELKO! Speedway

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a copyright violation, please follow the DMCA section in the Terms of Use.