Department of Commerce By Cara And Emma

The Department of Comerece or DOC is supposed to create economic growth and opportunity.

The DOC is made of twelve different bureaus that all focus on five key goal areas, trade and investment, innovation, environment, data, and operational excellence.

The DOC is currenty run by Penny Pritzker who has been secretary since June 26, 2013. She was given this position because she was a entrepreneur, a business woman, a civics leader and she attended law school.

Penny Pritzker (left)

The International Trade Administration (ITA), a department inside of the DOC who "strengthens the competitiveness of U.S. industry, promotes trade and investment, and ensures fair trade through the rigorous enforcement of our trade laws and agreements" (as stated by, is working on resolving issues such as developing revised performance plans, providing appropriate training for affected employees, developing an employee engagement plan, and assessing the level of resources throughout ITA headquarters.

The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), a department inside of the DOC who are the ones "granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks" (as stated by, they have working on resolving issues such as the one we learned in class about the Slants.



Created with images by DonkeyHotey - "Department of Commerce Seal" • U.S. Consulate General Munich - "Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker visits Munich" • DonkeyHotey - "Department of Commerce Seal"

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.