The Mark of Athena By Rick Riordan

The Mark of Athena is the third book in the author Rick Riordan's series called the Heroes of Olympus. The Mark of Athena is about a group of seven kids (Percy, Annabeth, Leo, Piper, Jason, Hazel, and Frank) who are trying to reunite the Greek and Roman demigods to stop the powerful Gaea from destroying the world. In order to do this they must travel to ancient Rome where they must retrieve a statue. During this journey they learn about a prophecy that would completely change their lives. The book ends in the perfect setup for a part four, and really allows the new characters to make their mark in Riordan's new series.

Rick Riordan

Rick Riordan is an American author who is well known for his popular series about a kid named Percy Jackson. Riordan's new series named Heroes of Olympus is a 5 book series that includes The Son of Neptune, and continues on with the character Percy Jackson, and at the same time throwing new characters into the mix.


My opinion for this book is overall very good. I believe that it is the best book out of the entire series so far, and believe that the rest of the books in this series will continue to get better. Although I think that there wasn't exactly too many battles and other mini conflicts in this book compared to some of Riordan's other books, I do like how old characters like Annabeth were brought back into the new series from the old series.

Published October 2nd, 2012

The message I believe that the author Rick Riordan is trying to give is o never give up. I believe that this is the message because even though the main characters have to go through many hardships they always stay on task and never back down.

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.